Falling for the weather

It has been a challenging week.  You know, the car.  I have not mentioned that I have felt crummy this week as well.  Did not help the situation one bit.  The joys of living in Texas in October.  Somehow I tend to forget that once a year, always in early October, everyone seems to be iiiicky.  That is not a word but anyone who lives in this great state KNOWS what I mean by the word iiiicky.  The weather is just iiiicky.  Even the pumpkins on my front step do not change the iiiicky feeling of early October.  My pansies that I finally HAD to plant last week aren’t too happy with this iiiiicky weather either.  And not being able to wear your new long sleeve shirts and keen boots (but still in your summer clothes) make you feel iiiicky.  And thanks to Big Mama for the lead on the boots. 

I came to a conclusion yesterday about Texans’ feelings on fall (well, the lack of fall in Texas).  To be truthful, 93 degrees is not hot and the 75 degrees at 8pm is rather lovely.  So why do we complain so?  B/c the Pottery Barn Kids catalogue has a dozen cute toddlers in thick costumes prancing about in a multi-colored pile of leaves causing the word “crisp” to jump across our minds.  So, we just THINK it is to be cool and our 10 degree decrease from the August temperature just does NOTHING for us. 

So, that is that.  I meant to leave a post about my tough week and how I am leaving this place, including my computer friends, for a few days.  I am off to a scrapbooking retreat.  I have no guilt about leaving the fam.  I think we all need a break from the norm.  And believe me, the norm around here is Mom NOT scrapbooking.  Those days have passed.  Blogging is not helping matters at all!

The husband and kids are going to the State Fair without me tomorrow.  Maybe the only guilt I have is about not having the opportunity to eat everything under the sun that can possibly be fried.  Maybe not.  Cute jeans and big thighs don’t mix well and I am pretty certain that the State Fair funnel cake measuring in at 41 grams of fat is not a good addition to that combination.  

I am out of here!

One Comment

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted October 7, 2007 at 7:28 pm | Permalink

    Ooh, a whole weekend of scrapbooking?! Hope you had fun!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

