The Fair and so much more

My fam went to the State Fair without me on Friday.  My dear husband was ever so kind to take a pic of a half-eaten corn dog.  Thank you, dear.

In reality, if I would have joined them, this is EXACTLY what I would have been offered!  The leftovers!  I felt missed.  And loved. 

img_9201.JPG

Now, please do not have too much pity on me for I was away from it ALL and completed a rockin’ SIXTY-FOUR pages in my scrapbook. 

That makes me happy. 

Very, very happy!

I returned tonight later than expected.  My friend and I stopped in Waco to take a peek at my alma mater.  It is doing just fine without me.  It even looks like it is doing just fine without my money, too!  I have noticed that lately I don’t get as many calls from perky little sophomores asking for some donation.  They always tell me how special it was that I could stay home with my little darlings.  Then they drop the bomb, asking for money!  I always kindly (really, I am kind) tell them that “I HAVE NO MONEY, YOU SWEET THING!  I STAY HOME, REMEMBER?!?!?!” 

Click.

And let me tell you that I felt like a goofball in McAllister Deli waiting for my friends’ Baylor student.  Yes, I DO have a friend with a college-aged son.  She was very, very young at the time of his birth.  Not only was I the oldest one in that establishment (my friend pointed out a few parents in there for Parents Weekend – like we fit in – great), but I apparently did not get the clothing memo.  My shorts were way to long, my glasses completely dorky, my hair way too short, and my shirt entirely too loose (that I thought was actually too tight when I put it on).

I felt uncomfortable for a bit and then I looked at my friend (who knew full well that I was feeling awkward) and said, “These KIDS don’t even know I exist.” 

They DON’T CARE!

AND!  I was ever impressed that the sweet little college boy met us for lunch.  Two married women in their thirties sitting down for a casual Sunday lunch with a senior in college.  He is a trooper.  He’s gonna make some woman real happy one day! 

Did I mention it was a FREE LUNCH for him?

Back to the Fair…

 My husband had complete instructions to take scrapbooking-worthy photos.  I raced to the camera tonight to see what I had to work with!  He did okay but NO Big Tex, no cotton candy and no pic of my husband or his family.  Beggers must not be choosers now can they. 

But, I found this photo a bit humorous.  The only “group” shot taken and only one of the three looked.  And it was the one who never looks at the camera.  Notice the sweat, the tired feet, the child wanting to GO.   

No pic of the kids entering the fair with bright shiny faces.  Only the tired and weary at the end of the day.   Once again, reality. 

img_9249.JPG

4 Comments

  1. Sheli
    Posted October 7, 2007 at 9:29 pm | Permalink

    I am soooo jealous that you completed that many pages! I hope I can do just as well in a few weeks.
    Sheli
    (Glad you are back to reality with the rest of us. I missed you.)

  2. Theresa
    Posted October 8, 2007 at 4:34 pm | Permalink

    You crack me up! You are so much nicer to the callers than me. I told them at WMU that they got 2 extra years of tuition out of me, and they weren’t getting another dime. They never called again:)
    Theresa

  3. EJ
    Posted October 8, 2007 at 6:14 pm | Permalink

    What fun at the fair and your weekend getting to work on the scrapbook pages – you really got a lot done!
    Thanks for including the pics – I mentioned to Stan when we talked this afternoon that Sam really looked hot and tired! He told me about the rousing basketball game!!!

  4. sincerelyanna
    Posted October 9, 2007 at 8:35 pm | Permalink

    Oh that last picture is hysterical. Definitely happy kids! 🙂

    Woah, 64 pages??? You rock! I don’t think I’ve ever completed more than 10 in one sitting…ever! Way to go!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

