He is at it again

The lad was not too keen on the idea of camping with dad this weekend.

It’s not that he doesn’t appreciate a good wiener roast. 

It’s not even the smoke in his eyes and the burnt marshmallow memory that sent him over the edge today. 

And sleeping in a sleeping bag in a tent is not a problem either. 

Being alone with dad is actually his idea of a dream day.  Not to mention ditching his sisters.

The problem, my dear friends, is the blasting TV and Saturday morning cartoons.

 As we were wandering the Wal-mart aisles, he was absolutely driving me bonkers with “I AM NOT GOING CAMPING, IT IS A WASTE OF MY TIME” remarks.  I was seriously about to blow. 

I got down to his level (it is sad that these days I do not have to bend too low) and I scolded him.  He was a bit teary-eyed as he looked right at me and said, “Well, this would NOT be a problem if we had cable.”  I am pretty sure he clenched his jaw!

Well, little buddy, you are not even a millimeter closer to getting cable.  In fact, I think you just took a few steps back! 

The word obsession comes to mind.

2 Comments

  1. EJ
    Posted October 13, 2007 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

    what a challenging situation – let us know how it all turned out!!!

  2. sincerelyanna
    Posted October 13, 2007 at 10:20 pm | Permalink

    I think this calls for a self-made Cosby Show-ish intervention. Remember the episode where Theo wanted his own apartment and they turned the house into the “real world”.

    It worked for them. You should try it 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

