He survived and possibly had a bit of fun

Well, he went camping.  He actually climbed into the car with dad on Friday without hesitation. 

Our conversation tonight went something like this:

Mom:  “So, you had lots of fun with Dad?”

Lad:  “Sort of, not really.  Maybe just the time I wrote in my  journal and made up my Pokemon game.”

I am not sure what this “game” of his entails for he does not watch the show but can entertain himself for hours with a poster of characters and his journal.

Mom: “Was it fun?’

Lad:  “I think it was boring.”

Mom:  “What about the food?  You love food.  That had to excite you!”

Lad:  “That was the best part besides looking at my Pokemon poster.”

Mom:  “What about the other boys?  Did you play with them?”

Lad:  “Yes, but still it was boring besides the food and Pokemon stuff.”

Mom: “But I know you had so much fun just being with your dad.”

Lad: “I also liked hiking.  I went the fartherest.”

Mom:  “So you DID like camping?”

Lad:  “Uuuum (as he laughs), the boringest part of it was the fishing part.” 

Mom:  “Do you want to go with dad again?”

Lad:  “I’d rather stay home and watch T.V. with him,” he says while he has a smirk on his face.

My interpretation of this converstation is this:  He had a blast but will NOT admit it!  He is deathly afraid of the consequences if the truth of him surviving without electronics ever gets out.  It would be horrible.

He did indeed have fun!

If you look at this pic you might think otherwise.  His expression tells me he was thinking about the cartoons he was missing at 8:45am. 

   img_9298.JPG

If you look closely in the next photo, you will notice that the lad (in the red sweatshirt) was working in his notebook.  He was not too quick to jump in and have a good time.

 

img_9291.JPG

But later…

HE DOES!

 img_9308.JPG

I feel so terrible that I put my son through torture.  How dare I do such a thing?  I don’t think I can sleep tonight due to my guilt.  What kind of mother makes her child enjoy the great outdoors AND his dad?  What kind of mother puts limits on T.V. and computer time?  And what kind of mother could possibly deny her son CABLE? 

If you were to ask the lad he would tell you, “You are not a mean mom or a bad mom.  You would just be better if we had cable!” 

No more talk of cable on my posts.  I promise. 

The end!

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 15, 2007 at 11:49 pm | Permalink

    Oh, thank the Lord in heaven for that last picture! He needs to see that from time to time.

    Ha! You’d be such a better mom if you had cable, huh? What a hoot!

  2. EJ
    Posted October 16, 2007 at 5:38 am | Permalink

    So glad things turned out well – I really thought that they would!!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

