Hot off the printing press

Last month I wrote a post about my interview with a 5th grader for the new teacher section of our very professional school newpaper.  Five weeks later, the newsbreaking story of “getting to know Mrs. K” is out, hot off the press. I thought you would appreciate the writing talent of a young’n at my school.  I laughed how the child took my words and put them into hers.  I edited a few things for the sake of privacy. 

Enjoy.

Mrs. K is our new 1st grade teacher.  She has been here for a few years, but this year she is a core teacher.  Her parents influenced her the most and her parents are probably as wonderful as she is.  Other people describe Mrs. K as enthusiastic and energetic.  June 22 is Mrs. K’s birthday, but we aren’t in school.  Mrs. K’s hometown is Southlake, TX, home of the Dragons.  Her hobbies are working out, scrapbooking, cooking, and camping.  Her happiest moments were in high school and her saddest was when she lived far from her family.  If she could start over, she would read more when she was younger.  Mrs. K says we all will or have struggled with things in life.  One of Mrs. K’s troubles was that she had a a severe speech impairment and she could not really talk until she was 5 years old.  Another problem was that her 2nd grade teacher said she could not make anything of herself.  Her mom did not let her listen to that teacher and Mrs. K thanks her mom for that.  She wants to be remembered as a happy person and a person who loved God, and we will remember her for those things.  Ten years from now she wants to still be enjoying her growing family.

Her one wish about the school is that she wished it were closer to her house.  I know that most of her class loves her.  The advice she would love to give is that you can do “anything” God has told you to do.  She is a very nice  person, so if you haven’t met her, stop by the first grade room and say hi.

Now here it is again – edited!  (My true thoughts are in bold letters.)

Mrs. K is our new 1st grade teacher.  She has been here for a few years, but this year she is a core teacher.  Her parents influenced her the most and her parents are probably as wonderful as she is (brown noser).  Other people describe Mrs. K as enthusiastic and energetic (annoyingly loud).  June 22 is Mrs. K’s birthday, but we aren’t in school (as if that really matters – it’s not that I would be showered with gifts or even given a day off or anything).  Mrs. K’s hometown is Southlake, TX, home of the Dragons (yeah, those mighty fighting Dragons who have quite a winning record and not to mention a few state championships).  Her hobbies are working out, scrapbooking, cooking, and camping.  Her happiest moments were in high school  (I am not so sure you would say they were all happy – all I did was run and run and run and babysit in between) and her saddest was when she lived far from her family (1,444 miles to be exact from my folks’ doorstep to my new marital dwelling place).  If she could start over, she would read more when she was younger (like even enjoying Beowulf – or maybe not) .  Mrs. K says we all will or have struggled with things in life (I don’t think I said that but yeah, she’s right).  One of Mrs. K’s troubles (I call it a struggle, a challenge, or even a blessing on my good days) was that she had a a severe speech impairment (but I somehow voiced my opinions) and she could not really talk until she was 5 years old (that had to be a mixed feeling accomplishment in the eyes of my parents – now they can’t shut me up).  Another problem was that her 2nd grade teacher said she could not make anything of herself (She did.  Oh yes, she did).  Her mom did not let her listen to that teacher and Mrs. K thanks her mom for that (my mom actually admitted that a teacher was wrong – that was rare).  She wants to be remembered as a happy person and a person who loved God, and we will remember her for those things (and I am sure a million other things that aren’t so positive).  Ten years from now she wants to still be enjoying (I have high hopes it will be easier then – but I have heard…) her growing family (like I am trying to get pregnant again or something??).

Her one wish about the school is that she wished it were closer to her house (or maybe that we would be able to move closer).  I know that most of her class loves her (Most?  Like a few have told her they DON’T love me??  So what do they think of me???  Now that is reassuring!).  The advice she would love to give is that you can do “anything” God has told you to do (I think I said anything God calls you to be.  Same thing).  She is a very nice (like folks can’t think of better words to describe me) person, so if you haven’t met her, stop by the first grade room and say hi (but please, oh please, sit down and be quiet!).

One Comment

  1. EJ
    Posted October 26, 2007 at 10:41 am | Permalink

    Super report! I loved both versions!!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

