Give Thanks With A Grateful Heart

Today in chapel the sixth graders presented a skit.  Then they led us in a song that I have been teaching my students this week. 

I have heard this song a hundred times.  I normally hear it sung by children and always love it.

But today as the 95 elementary students sang this song, I became teary-eyed.  For some unknown reason it was touching today.  At some point in the song, I opened my eyes to see my principal turned around.  Our eyes met and it was clear we were thinking the same thing:  Heaven. 

My 8 year old daughter and her class of singing canaries were right behind me and their voices were angelic.  They were singing from their sweet little hearts.  They were truly giving thanks to our Lord with a grateful heart.  Giving thanks to the holy one.  Giving thanks BECAUSE He’s given Jesus Christ, his Son.  And now the weak say they are strong and the poor say they are rich – because of what the Lord has done for us…

WE GIVE THANKS! 

WE DO GIVE THANKS TO YOU OH LORD for you are good and your love endures forever.

That pretty much sums up my thankful post.  What else is there to say?

2 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted November 13, 2007 at 3:36 pm | Permalink

    I love it!

  2. Rachel Asato
    Posted November 14, 2007 at 9:17 pm | Permalink

    Dear beautiful sister in christ,

    Sooo enjoyed browsing your website and skimming some of your k-nightly blogs. I especially loved seeing the picture of your husband and “Lad” sitting on the couch watching the dusty t.v. in its new location. It made me remember you describing what had happened from the night before! Really enjoyed visiting with you last night and I look forward to seeing you again real soon. oh and when you get a chance (which I know are few and far between), could you share with me like two of any Thanksgiving desserts that you suggest I bake for my family!

    Thanks and God Bless

    Rachel Asato


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

