My mother got confused – very, very confused

Now my mother is a good ole southern lady.  Not only can she love you to pieces but she can cook.  Boy, can she cook.  Just like her Momma.  And she is a very faithful woman too.  Especially to my Dad, to whom she has been married for 39 years.

So imagine how astounded I was when I walked into her bathroom last night and heard her saying,  “Now, Tom, I am going to give you a nice cool bath. ”

My Dad’s name is Don.

Imagine the shock.

img_9526.jpg

and then I saw this:

img_9529.jpg

I think when she heard that you must baste the turkey, she heard: “You must bathe the turkey.”  She claims she was “following directions” that said to thaw the turkey in cool water.  The rest of the family thinks she wanted to make sure that bird was extra clean for its big debut today.  Or maybe it was being immersed so that we could have ourselves a bona fide BAPTIST Thanksgiving.  Whatever the reason . . . it worked! 🙂  (See note above about Nana’s cooking.)  Let the record show that the son-in-law refused to join in the jokes about Nana’s Bathing Birdie (or Tom’s Trip to the Tub) for fear of losing Thanksgiving leftover privileges.

 Smart boy . . .

2 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted November 22, 2007 at 8:22 pm | Permalink

    You tell everyone in that house to stop teasing your mother because I love that lady so much and I won’t let any such teasing continue. You hear me?
    It is funny, though! Tell Nana I miss her! I hope we get to see her again soon.

  2. bloginmyeye
    Posted November 22, 2007 at 8:43 pm | Permalink

    That is a great pic you got of your mom lovin’ that turkey! too funny! I love your holiday blog spirit.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] bathing Tom this year.  Last year I overheard her conversation with Tom and I was horrified.  Go here for that odd […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

