100 Things

Well, folks, it has been 99 posts for me.  And once I post this mess, it will be the big 1-0-0! 

Not sure the “rules”on this 100th post thingy, or if rules even exist.

Here it goes.  Grab you a cup of fully-loaded coffee so you can stay alert and start reading.

1.  I was born in Texas City, Texas many years ago.

2.  My brother is 21 months older than me.

3.  My parents named my brother after my dad (same middle names) but me, oh no, I am not named after ANYBODY.  I think that bothered me as a child. 

4.  Carey Bohn was my first boyfriend.  I walked the aisle many times to Evies’ Mirror song.  I did this repeatedly, not knowing it only took one holy ceremony to seal the deal.  It was tragic when I found out my mom, who was our officiating minister, was not really a minister at all.  

5.  He moved away when I was six.

6.  He then sent me my first “love letter” in the mail. 

7.  I remember it clearly.  It had a little kitty cat on the front and said something about missing me. 

8.  I was touched.

9.  I moved on.

10.  My folks built a house when I was seven and we moved 2 towns over. 

11.  I was in second grade but my folks decided that since I was a young 2nd grader and we were moving, it was a good time to hold me back.

12.  Personally, I would have chosen to do it BEFORE I started school. 

13.  I had a huge complex about flunking Sunday School too.  You can guess who planted that notion in my brain.  Brothers are so kind!

14.  I thought I was being held back due to my severe speech impairment which is the likely story.

15. I also blamed my second grade teacher.

16.  She told my mother that I would never make anything of myself.

17.  I couldn’t spell – or so she told my mother.  She also declared that she did not like teaching little girls.  The horror!

18.  That ruined me.  Yes, in second grade, I knew I wanted to be a teacher because right then I knew that other children should never be told that.

19.  I repeated 2nd grade.  My “second” 2nd grade teacher Mrs. Nagle was a kind, understanding teacher and I loved her.  BUT she killed the word “nice” and I have yet to get over it.  She wrote the word on the board and started “killing” it with pictures of a knife, blood, fire, etc.  I really am still baffled by that one.

20.  I barfed on my third grade teacher because she did not believe that I had to throw up.  I was known for being a squirmy little thing who hunted for all excuses to leave the classroom.  Obviously I was not lying on that day.

21.  In fourth grade I was placed in an open-area classroom.  Whose idea was that to put an (undiagnosed) ADHD child in a large room with 12 classrooms only divided by partitions?

22.  The next year I was in a contained 5th grade room.  Surprise!

23.  I loved babies.  Real or not.

24.  I carried a baby doll and diaper bag everywhere.  I have always been prepared! 

25.  After church on Sundays, I would dart to the nursery, scoop up a baby and be perfectly content.  Until I realized that, once again, my dad had driven off and left me.  He most certainly did.  I remember it.  Good thing he knew the Cornelius family lived down the street and could bring me home.

26.  My brother and I formed our own neighborhood football and drill team club.  We were actually rather organized.  He has always liked to run things.

27.  He is now the pastor of our new church.

28.  In 7th grade I really started to LOVE the Lord.

29.  I was a bit different in 7th grade.  Real tiny, immature, and definitely innocent.

30.  A girl named Kim left me nasty notes in my locker.  One claimed I was the mother of Noah.  I think she meant Jesus. 

31. Right before we moved to Dallas that year she started coming to my church and asked Jesus into her heart. 

32.  That was the same year I raised my hand in 7th grade English class and asked who Boy George was. 

33.  I also raised my hand in youth group and asked what a virgin was.  My brother was mortified.

34.  After moving to Dallas (Southlake), I was still weird.

35.  My 8th grade year I started running.

36.  I was shocked when I ran my first mile race and won.  So was my coach.

37.  I had found my niche.

38.  In high school, I ran and babysat.  Ran and babysat.  Yep, that was it. 

39.  Well, I was also an active part of our church youth group.

40.  I was in the youth choir but couldn’t stay on key to save my life.

41.  They asked me to lip sync only.

42.  I was kicked out of choir temporarily.  Something about pushing Chris Levine in the baptistry.  I don’t think I remember any more of that story.

43.  I was a health nut in high school. 

44.  I ran and ran and ran so I was a bean pole.

45.  Had my heart set on attending Baylor University. 

46.  Somehow I ended up in Brownwood, Texas, at Howard Payne University. 

47.  And I also found myself driving with a friend to Waco every weekend. 

48.  It had something to do with a boyfriend there. 

49.  So I transferred to Baylor but the boyfriend was no more.

50.  Wanted to get my special ed degree and could not get that at Howard Payne.  Maybe the boyfriend had something to do with it.

51.  Loved Baylor.

52.  Got real involved in the Baptist Student Union (yes, it is now called Baptist Student Ministries).

53.  Led a children’s tutorial ministry with my dear friend, Sharon.

54.  Worked at Kanakuk camps that summer at their special needs camp.  Loved it.

55.  Met a boy with a big goofy grin and a bright yellow watch that next fall.

56.  He was very active in my tutorial ministry. 

57.  I adored him.

58. He was goofy and younger than me.

59.  He eventually took over my part of the ministry because I was about to student teach.

60.  We hung out a lot.

61.  He was my friend.

62. Then one day he said the dreaded words, “I think we need to define our relationship.” 

63.  Gulp. 

64.  I kissed him that night.  Then I freaked out.

65.  Would not talk to him.

66.  I avoided him like the plague.

67.  We remained friends but I only did things with him in groups.

68.  I met another boy at camp that summer.  I was hooked.  He was ten years older than me.

69.  The night before I left for my student teaching experience in England, he called and said something about me being a nice girl and all but . . .

70.  I was miserable in England all because of him.  He promised to write so every day I anxiouly awaited the arrival of the post (as they call mail in England).  No letters. 

71.  I did, however, receive several letters from that nice boy with the yellow watch.

72.  He was a dear friend.  That was all. 

73.  Returned from my 6 week excursion and started substituting while looking for a job.

74.  I graduated midyear and lived at home.

75.  I got my first job teaching 5th graders special ed in Grapevine. 

76.  They scared me.

77.  The next year I taught 2nd grade special ed and adored my job.  It was perfect.  My team was perfect, my principal was perfect, the kids were GREAT.

78.  The following December my dad told me either I had to move out or pay him rent.  Two weeks later, my room was his office.

79.  Two weeks after moving into my very own apartment, I received a call.

80.  The boy with the yellow watch had lost a bet – sort of.  He actually was playing Farkle (like Truth or Dare really).  He lost.

81.  As his “punishment” he was required to ask out a girl of his choice from the church singles department that he did not know.  Dating was not his forte.  He was telling me about it.  And dreading it.

82.  I am always up for playing a joke.

83.  I volunteered to be that girl. 

84.  I drove 30 miles to his church, acted like a visitor, and waited in the back row for him to walk in.  He came in and “coincidentally” sat down next to me.  We hit it off and, in front of all his watching friends, asked me out on a date.

85.  We acted like after one date, that we wanted to get married.  They were freaked out!

86.  I went back to Teachingville and started thinking.

87.  My only real male contact those days was with Ralph, the sixtysomething custodian at my school.

88.  Maybe my thoughts about this boy were from a lack of dating.

89.  Yes, that was it.

90.  But the thoughts stayed.

91.  One of my teenagers I worked with told me I flirted with him and we were going to get married one day.  I laughed at her saying that he was my best friend.   Her confused reply was, “I thought you were supposed to marry your best friend.”

92.  I kept my feelings hush hush for a few weeks.  I was losing my mind.

93.  The night my grandmother died, who came over to comfort me?  That sweet goofy boy.

94.  He sat right next to me at the funeral like he belonged there.  My sister-in-law leaned over and asked, “What is going on?”  Nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  He was such a dear friend.

95.  Denial gave its last gasp.

96.  The night of the funeral I confessed my love for him.  He was floored.  After I had “ditched” him a few years earlier, he had accepted the fact that I would never love him. 

97.  He was wrong.

98.  Less than three months later we were engaged.

99.  On December 28, 1996, we were married.

scan0002.jpg

100.  To this day he still has the yellow watch (doesn’t wear it).  And the big goofy grin (still wears it).

3 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted December 9, 2007 at 2:22 pm | Permalink

    It was fun to read your 100 – I forgot about the Farkle thing…he had it planned the whole time. 😉

  2. Sheli
    Posted December 9, 2007 at 7:11 pm | Permalink

    That is so sweet. OK you are making me want to get my own blog…a little!

  3. Willie
    Posted December 9, 2007 at 9:56 pm | Permalink

    What amazes me is the 100 somehow left out all mention of me and my buddy Peter. What reading this did to me was long for a chance to sit down with the K-nig-its for a week or even a month. HOHOHO!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] If you want to know a little bit more about moi, you might want to visit here and here. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

