We are most thankful

I am sitting here tonight pondering a few things. 

My car. 

Oh my sad car.

Is it totaled?

How long will I be without it?

Oh!  How I hope the insurance company does not give us grief.

What if they claim it to be totaled?  Surely they will not give us enough money to completely replace my 10-month-old car.

The worries.

And then I look over at my children and realize that it is just a car!

What am I talking about?  I had an accident on the way home today (with 5 children in the car).  A truck going 50 miles per hour rear ended us while we were waiting to turn left at an intersection.

And all six people in my van – and the driver and passenger of the truck – walked away without a scratch.  (Well, actually two could not walk . . . they were my 4-month-old twin nephews who I was keeping for the first time – yikes!)  So, really, I am not worrying.  When I start to worry, I think about how crunched my car was and how I unloaded all those kids without bruise or blood in sight. 

I truly believe it was a miracle today.

My children aren’t even complaining of a headache, and my twin baby nephews checked out just fine.  My daughter’s friend is okay as well.

We are most thankful.

The EMS and officers that arrived at the scene were in awe that nobody in my vehicle was injured.  My car is pretty much squished.

Once I thoroughly checked on all the kids, I caught a glimpse of the poor young man who hit me.  He was taking it all in. 

He felt awful.  Absolutely awful. 

He told me his heart sank when I pulled out TWO infant carseats.  I quickly eased his fears as I took one of the twins out of the carseat then handed the other one to a stranger – another mother.  She was an angel.  She wrapped that little babe up and calmed him down as I did the same with the other one.  

Meanwhile, the boy kept apologizing. 

And by the grace of God, I easily extended him grace.  I kept telling him that we were not hurt (even though my car was), so all was well. 

Then it hit me.  Even if one of my passengers would have been hurt (or worse), I would have forgiven him.  So, I walked over there to him sitting on that curb and said, “You know, I believe this was an accident and I don’t blame you.  Even if one of these children were badly injured, I pray that I would just as easily tell you that you are forgiven as I am doing now.”  He hung his head.  I asked him, “Did you willingly run into me?”  He said, “No, ma’am, and I feel awful.”  I told him that I was most impressed with how he immediately came to my side and owned up to his responsibility.  He never blamed me or said a harsh word.  He was calm and collected. 

And let me tell you that if he would have reacted differently then so would I.  And the children as well.  His spirit of remorsefulness was refreshing, which we all needed at that time. 

So, whoever you are young man (I never got your name) . . . 

You made a mistake by turning your head away from the road today for a millisecond.   It happens.  I just happened to be at a complete stop in front of you when you made that decision.

I was thinking about all those times that I turn away from what God has called me to do, the path, the road he has led me on.  I have run into some ugly roadblocks (or parked cars) and have had some consequences.  Some more obvious than others.  This young man will now have a much larger premium, a lack of transportation for a few days, and probably a tough time falling asleep tonight.  But I do so hope that he will remember my words and rest assured that I am moving on and don’t hold a grudge.  Not a bit.  I want to call him and tell him that the twins checked out just fine and were home from the hospital in a few hours.  I want to tell him that he is loved and forgiven by the greatest Man that ever walked on this earth.  And while I would like to think that I completely forgave him, I will likely have moments of doubt as I fight to get all the details worked out.  But he has a Saviour and Forgiver far greater than I can ever hope to be.

Rest well tonight, young man. 

3 Comments

  1. Sheli
    Posted December 18, 2007 at 9:28 pm | Permalink

    OH MY GOODNESS!!!!
    I am so glad all of you are O.K. Thank you God for watching out for my friend and those with her.

  2. Posted December 18, 2007 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    Praise God from whom all blessings flow. How else would you have been able to meet that young man today? Wonder that you responded so well!

  3. Posted December 19, 2007 at 9:38 am | Permalink

    Wow. I am so glad you are all okay, and so humbled and moved by your heart towards the young man. God gets the glory for both, but your sharing them also makes me feel grateful to YOU. 🙂 Hope the news about the car turns out a pleasant surprise.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] at this very moment I am a proud driver of a rental mini van.  If you are new to my blog, read here to learn why.  Makes me miss dear Henrietta the Honda.  Nothing like a Honda.  Any-who.  I have […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

