And He Gave Him the Name Jesus

I have always been fascinated with names.  When I was a little girl, I found a book on my parents’ shelf entitled What Shall We Name the Baby?  I was addicted to that thing.

I would spend hours looking up names for my future children.  I was always curious to find interesting meanings.  As I grew older, I was on the hunt for that perfect name with a perfect ending.  Yes, I was a rather odd teenager.  At the start of my obesession, I had NO spiritual connotation to my quest, I just simply wanted to name my 101 baby dolls and come up with names for my 8 children I thought I would have one day. 

What was I looking for in a name? 

Of course I would take my crush of the month and put a name to his last name to see how it sounded. 

I also would choose names of children I babysat and try them out with middle names like, say, Miles, Washington, or George for boys.  And for girls I started the trend for Bailey and Taylor.  I loved the name Mallie.  I loved that name.  And that was in the 80’s.  Thankyouverymuch.

I don’t know why!  Don’t ask.

I also shared the same sentiment with Anne of Green Gables.  Why have a plain name like Anne when you could be a Cordelia? 

I had a hankering to be a Gabriella.  Oh yes I did!  And that was about 17 years before High School Musical even thought of appearing.  See, I am original.   I also thought every child should have at least one name of family heritage.  Yes, I was the one lone sheep in my family that was named after NO ONE. 

Things do certainly change.  Thank the good Lord!  You will be happy to know that I did not even think about naming any of my children the above names.

Now I favor strong biblical ones.  Too bad my husband took my favorite name.  The name meaning strong and manly.  Oh how he likes me to remind him of that!  I have always been a fan of Jacob but it means deceiver and I just could not bring myself to do it.  Of course my good ole’ Mississippi roots taunted me with double names.  We do actually use our third child’s second name fequently.  Although it might appear we use it with stern voices, I like to think that I use them as one b/c together they are beautiful.  

I do like the sounding of names.  Some roll right off your tongue.  Others just sound like the owner of the name.  Some are just old.  Some are youngish.  And a few fit both the young and old set.  That is the kind of name I like!   There are names that simply put visions of certain people in your head.  Try being a teacher and coming up with that perfect name for your own child.  Not easy.

Originally names indicated some trait of the bearer.  For instance, “Smith” referred to a smith – literally (a blacksmith, coppersmith, etc.).  “Baker” was – you guessed it – a baker.  And Knight . . . well, let’s just say we have very chivalrous roots.

What does all this babbling have to do with anything? 

It most certainly does not mean the husband and I are frantically comtemplating names for another addition to our family.  Get that idea out of your head.  NOW!  By the way, congratulations to Fried Okra on her recent discovery that she and her hubby will now have the grand privilege of coming up with that perfect name once again there at Fried Okra Manor.  Good luck with that. 

You thought I was writing a post about the reason for the season, didn’t you?

You are right.

A friend slipped a postcard in my Christmas card last week that had the names of Jesus beautifully depicted on it. 

I glanced at it and put it aside. 

Last night I glanced at it again and actually read the verses. 

Have you ever considered the names of JESUS?  Each one tells something about who He was and is in our lives.  At the end of reading this, you might agree with me that there is no other name worthy of praise.  As Philippians 2:10 says, “At the name of Jesus, every knee will bow.”  His name is our life. 

Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus, there is something about THAT NAME.

I pray that as you ponder the birth of Christ and who he became and WHO HE is, you will be blessed and treasure His name even more. 

Almighty – Revelation 1:8

Alpha and Omega – Revelation 1:8

Beginning and the End – Revelation 1:8

First and Last – Revelation 1:11

Amen – Revelation 3:14

Annointed One – Pslams 2:2

Beloved – Ephesians 1:6

Bread of Life – John 6:48

Conerstone – Ephesians 2:20

Deliverer – Romans 11:26

Everlasting Father – Isaiah 9:6

Faithful and True – Revelation 19:11

Good Shepherd – John 10:11

High Priest – Hebrews 4:14

Holy One – Psalms 16:10

I Am – John 8:58

Immanuel – Matthew 1:23

Jesus – Matther 1:21

King of Kings and Lord of Lords – Revelation 19:16

Lamb of God – John 1:29

The Light – John 8:12

Living Stone – 1 Peter 2:4

Lord Jesus Christ – Romans 1:7

Messiah – John 1:41

Mighty God – Isaiah 9:6

Prince of Peace – Isaiah 9:6

Redeemer – Isaiah 59:20

Resurrection and the Life – John 11:25

Savior – Luke 2:11

Son of the Most High – Luke 1:32

The Rock – 1 Corinthians 10:4

The Way, the Truth, and the Life – John 14:6

Wonderful Counselor – Isaiah 9:6

Word of Life – 1 John 1:1

Merry Christmas.  Or as my five year old explained to me tonight, “Merry means happy, Mommy, so you can say have a Happy Christmas.  We want others to be happy.” 

Yes, dear.  Yes, indeed.

Happy Christmas dear internets!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

