The 12 Days of Knightly Christmas

12 Days of Knightly Christmas

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me . . .

A message to kiss her nightly!

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me . . .

2 strong hands

And a message to kiss her nightly

(Fast forward to Day 12!)

On the 12th day of Christmas my true love gave to me

12 nanny eggs

11 Frappucinos

10 lines of loving

9 steps of dancing

8 fingers squeezing

7 secrets telling

6 cards a-dealing

5 PLATES OF FOOD!

4 candles burning

3-colored fleece

2 strong hands

And a message to kiss her nightly!

Thanks for my 12 Days of Christmas!

I love you!!

Your husband

I found this note under my pillow on Christmas Eve.  Apparently 12 Days of Christmas for my husband was a big hit.  I had a blast doing this for my dear husband.  For those of you interested in this endeavor, let me explain each “Day of Christmas.”  (Censored, of course!  🙂 )

Day one:  I presented a framed quote “Always Kiss Me Goodnight!” to my dear, pledging myself to him during the next 12 days.  He had no clue that I was planning 12 Days of Christmas so he was thrilled!   I will say no more about this day!  🙂

Day two:  Two Strong hands – I dropped by his office that day, dropped off a little happy and ran out.  He had to wait on pins and needles until bedtime to be able to use his gift of manly massage oil.

Day three:  I simply gave him the gift of clothing.  A soft fuzzy fleece so I could snuggle up close to his chest.  I love touching that man.   I think he likes it too!

Day four:  I drew a hot bath for him in candlelight.  I had music playing and sparkling cider waiting for his consumption.   He is not much of a bather and I can count the number of baths he has taken on one hand but he certainly seemed to enjoy the pampering. 

Day five:  I arranged a babysitter, called his co-worker to keep the husband from eating lunch, and kidnapped my love for a lunch out.  I hate to say that the coworker forgot to do his assigned job so as I was pulling up to the office, I called the husband only to find out he was munching on a piece of pizza.  Luckily, he had only two bites.  We had a lovely time being together in the middle of the day. 

Day six:  Well, things did not go as planned on this day.  I had visited the mall and had a little pink bag with a little something in it for that night but this was the day of the wreck.  The little pink bag was stuck in the back of the van at the body shop.  So plan B was game night.  After an emotional afternoon, it was fun to just sit on our bed and play card games.  Once upon a time we played games on our bed often after tucking the kids in their beds. It is a gift just being together.

Day seven:  We actually got a hold of that little pink bag – might I add I have never seen my husband so persistent about something!  I WAS going to the body shop and I WAS fetching that little pink bag.  So . . . that was day seven.

Day eight:  I am so thankful that my husband is so easy to please.  A simple foot massage speaks volumes to my man.

Day nine:  I presented him with another gift of my time.  I made him participate in a guessing game.  He finally figured out that my gift to him was ballroom dancing lessons.  We have talked about it for years so I thought it was time to finally follow through with our idea.

Day ten:  This day was the day for words of encouragement.  I wrote him a short but very sincere note exclaiming my love for him.

Day eleven:  He received a small little treat on this day.  He enjoyed a vanilla Frappucino from Starbucks that the Pumpkin and I delivered to him.

Day Twelve:  I begged asked my mom to watch the kids on this Christmas Eve morning so I could take the husband out to breakfast.  He loves breakfast dates.  It was so warm and cozy sitting there at Cracker Barrel across from the man I love.  We enjoy taking the kids to breakfast too but today was all about him. 

I hope you enjoyed knowing too much about our 12 days of Christmas.  I actually pray it will inspire you to do something special for your spouse.  I was blessed by seeing how simple acts of kindness blessed my husband.  It truly brought me joy.  We had a few tough incidents during these 12 days but I know being focused on the true meaning of Christmas (my Jesus) and someone else (my husband) helped me stand stronger and not be so self-centered.  I am grateful for the gift of giving.  I was blessed by being the giver. 

3 Comments

  1. Posted December 30, 2007 at 6:23 am | Permalink

    You Did GREAT!!! Thanks for sharing this. Hmmm.. now — how to remember this for next year. 😉

  2. sincerelyanna
    Posted December 30, 2007 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

    How creative and fun to show your man how important he is to you! I see a great Valentine’s Day in your future, Mrs. Knight.

  3. Posted January 7, 2008 at 10:49 pm | Permalink

    I love it! I will definitely have to do this. I have the hardest time thinking of things on my own, but I am very good at “stealing” ideas. As a teacher, you are probably familiar with Harry Wong, who says that if you see another teacher with a good idea that works, STEAL IT!

    BTW, you should definitely write a book!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

