Our exciting New Year’s Eve

Now that we have three children, our New Year Eve celebrations are relatively boring. 

Well, not completely boring.  Our plans just include our children.  For the past several years, we have tried to celebrate stuffing ourselves silly with fondue with our friends and our combined seven young children running thru the house.

Yesterday the husband got off work a few hours early so our friends suggested we come early so that the children could ride on their new go-cart.  I must admit that when my friend shared the news of their BIG gift this year, my stomach felt funny.  But I let it go.  “Let the kids have fun,” I thought to myself.  “The husband is watching them.  He is always cautious.”

Well, cautiousness came up short – only 11 minutes after arriving at the house.  To make a long story short (and not to dwell upon the “if onlys”),  as I was chopping veggies for our feast, in walked the husband carrying Pumpkin – both of whom had been out riding the go-cart (together, I assumed).  His face scared the pee out of me.  (Sorry for the graphic description but it only gets worse.)  One look at my daughter’s right arm and I wanted to throw up.  Clearly, a broken arm.  At the moment I was scared and had the nagging feeling to be mad at somebody.  Thankfully, our friends shooed us into the car, promised to take good care of the other two kiddos, and I was able to breathe and figure out what had happened. 

I had relinquished the whole watching-over-the-go-cart thingy to the husband as I started preparing supper.  He was not aware of the house rules so when the 7-year-old boy jumped into the driver’s seat after the husband’s turn, he thought nothing of it.  Pumpkin was in the passenger’s seat. Both kids were wearing helmets but for SOME reason, only the boy had his seatbelt on.  Please remember I was NOT out there.  I wanted nothing to do with it.  And let me tell you, I was certainly pleased that I did not witness that too big go-cart flipping over with MY child in it.  She evidently threw her arm down to stop her fall and well, you know…..(shudder)….. the roll bar landed on that little arm as well.

The entire 30 minute ride to the hospital, Pumpkin was hanging in there.  She whined (I would have bawled) and asked over and over, “How much longer, Daddy??”  When we finally arrived, that sick feeling in my stomach returned when I had to tell the triage nurse that it was a go-cart accident.  But the good Lord knew what I could handle and gave us kind, compassionate caretakers.  No fingers pointed at all.  I also felt like a bad parent when all I reported that she had eaten that day was McDonalds.  2 for 2.  I was on a roll!

Here is our sweet girl and her “roller coaster” arm during our three minute wait at the ER.  Take a look at that arm. 

                                                  dscf2962.jpg

The husband felt awful and I have never seen more compassion flow from him toward one of our children as I did last night.  I kept reassuring him that he did nothing wrong.  He didn’t.  Just one of those parenting things.  A crummy feeling.

Here is a pic of Pumpkin after coming out of conscious sedation when they reset the ulna and radius bones (both were broken).

                                                   dscf2966.jpg

Thankfully, the hospital we went to was much more efficient than we anticipated so we were in and out in 3 1/2 hours.  Pumpkin was a trooper!  A real trooper.  I was very proud of her. 

Pumpkin slept fairly well last night and has had little pain today. 

The little sweet red-headed 7-year-old driver felt awful!  He knew he was not to drive without a grown up in the cart so he took the blame.  But we blame NOBODY!  (Of course we want to blame ourselves.)

Today we went back to their house to fetch our other two kiddos (whom our friends had so graciously kept overnight) and to enjoy the fondue meal that was so rudely interrupted the night before.  When we arrived that sweet little guy walked out to the van carrying a vase of flowers and a gift for his friend.  I wanted to cry.  It was so sweet.

                                                            dscf2972.jpg

And, of course, CHOCOLATE makes everything better too!  Here are the kids devouring the chocolate fondue.

                                                            dscf2985.jpg

As unfortunate as the whole experience was, we know that it could have been much worse.  We are so thankful that the Lord was watching out for Pumpkin.  He even takes care of the little details!  Last night as we were searching for jammies that would fit over her large wrapped splint we remembered that the day before our neighbor had given us four trashbags of clothes his 13-year-old daughter had outgrown.  Most were a little big  – but they were perfect for our patient!

                                                               dscf2990-copy.jpg

7 Comments

  1. bloginmyeye
    Posted January 1, 2008 at 9:58 pm | Permalink

    Aw. I am SO sorry. That first picture from the ER says it all. (And so does the one with the flowers and the chocolate). Very nicely handled by everyone (including the “Big G” as we like to call Him at our house).

  2. sincerelyanna
    Posted January 2, 2008 at 4:34 pm | Permalink

    Yeah, I’d say that arm was broken. I feel so bad for her. A looks like he’s about to faint. What’s 2007 without a trip to the ER, though? This year has been the “And Then” year for you, or maybe the “Well, it could have been worse” year. Oh my! She’s sporting that cast well, though! Love the new pajamas!

  3. rachel N.
    Posted January 2, 2008 at 9:22 pm | Permalink

    i just wanted to tell pumpkin i know how she feels
    because I was in a real blunder too!( when I was 4)

  4. Theresa
    Posted January 2, 2008 at 9:31 pm | Permalink

    Boy, what a difference a few days make! We’re glad she’s okay. We will pray for fast healing.
    Rachel said to tell you, her blunder was when she was jumping on the daybed and fell and hit her chin and put a tooth through her bottom lip and needed some stitches. She doesn’t like the ER either.

  5. Theresa
    Posted January 2, 2008 at 9:34 pm | Permalink

    by the way, that’s when rach was 4 (Not recently)

  6. Posted January 7, 2008 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

    Oh, my stomach turned when I saw the picture of her arm! What a trooper!

  7. Posted January 8, 2008 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    Hope it’s healing up well. My little one (6) broke his leg on the trampoline a few months back. He was jumping so slightly that I never in a million years would have thought he could have broken his leg.
    Blessings
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha(S)
    http://realworldmartha.wordpress.com


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] were all quite impressed that the cast was removed less than six weeks after the accident.  Pumpkin was thrilled but a bit nervous about the possibility of a rebreak.  Mom is […]

  2. […] Now that we have three children, our New Year Eve celebrations are relatively boring.  […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

