Maybe, just maybe next year will be different

I was reminded earlier that tomorrow just happens to be heart day.  How I sort of forgot about it after making 3 extravagant Valentine’s boxes, helped address 52 cards, and making 52 cupcakes, is beyond me.  Not to mention all of the red and pink paraphernalia and frantic candy and card buyers wandering around Wal-mart yesterday.  February 14 is supposedly a holiday but I tend to associate “day off” with the word holiday and there certainly is none of that happening in the land of teaching. Oh no! 

Quite the opposite.  Tomorrow I will actually be pulling double duty.  What?

Oh! Have you ever spent a significant amount of time with 18 six year olds in a confined area after a sugar high?  If you haven’t, I advise you not to.  

And one wonders why I supposedly forgot about this holiday day. 

So I apologize to my children in advance for not adorning their morning oatmeal with nice red hots.  Or having fancy wrapped packages waiting on the kitchen table at breakfast.  I apologize to my children’s teachers for not providing any sort of present.  And to my beloved, I am ever so sorry for not planning a romantic night out or even a lovely dinner. 

All I seem to be doing is putting my house back in order and recovering from the shock of forking out the money to remodel.  Gulp.

So maybe, just maybe, next year my students will not be on a sugar high, my house will not be covered in dust, and I will take the time to invest in creating a special day for the ones I care for.   Life keeps going.  All the kids have school, which means I work.  Tomorrow is my extra long day.  I will still have a carload of kiddos in carpool, have to fetch Little Miss from Nana and Papa’s house, and take the Lad to Boy Scouts.  I might find time to throw something in the mouths of my little birdies.  Maybe.

But, really, who needs that one day in February to show others your love? 

If it does in fact need to be in February, then sign me up to celebrate the day of love on Saturday, February 16, when I have recovered.  I don’t want to do things just because of the date.  At this point, anything I do will be very poorly thought through.  So, I have just officially declared Saturday as “Shower your Family with Love” day.  I plan to write notes to all four of my blessings, make a special meal for the hubby, and actually do something intentional for each one.   The Lad will most likely choose reading over the stats of the hockey games.  Pumpkin will choose crafts, and Little Miss will vote for a cuddle time on the couch with a few good books.  The husband, well, you know. 

So if you find  yourself a little busy on the 14th, and unable to be real intentional in celebrating, please join me on this Saturday, as I celebrate the ones I love in ways that aren’t too abnormal – in ways that speak to the four most important people in my life.  

My girls just let me in on a little secret.  It appears that they have figured out who my Valentine will be. 

Whew!  I was getting way worried.  Glad to know.   The husband is happy to have that cleared up as well.

Oh!  One more thought!

1 John 4:7-8

Beloved, let us love one another.  For love is of God and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.  Anyone who does not love does not know God, because GOD IS LOVE.

That is all I really need to remember tomorrow. 

One Comment

  1. Sheli
    Posted February 14, 2008 at 4:09 pm | Permalink

    Happy Valentine’s Day!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

