Got an itchy head?

Wfmwsmall

The first thought you might have when you read my post title is LICE.  And boy, have I had my fair share of those critters lately.  I somehow became the official lice checker when a nurse is not on campus at school.  We are a private school so we do not have a nurse on hand at all times. 

But this post is not about lice.  It is about itchy heads caused by various factors – in my case that would be an inheritance (dry itchy scalp) from Papaw Gardner.  I have an extremely dry scalp (sure you want to know that) and struggle to find hair products that don’t leave me an itchy mess.  My friend who happens to be a hairstylist told me to stop looking for expensive solutions and head over to my pantry.   She told me to grab the carton of baking soda and mix about a teaspoon in with my regular shampoo. 

I did it and it worked. 

And it was el cheapo!!!

I repeat this little ritual every few weeks when the build up on my head gets annoying or I think I have lice (the joys of being a teacher AND mom).  :0

Now go and ponder this great wealth of knowledge I just bestowed upon you.  And while you are pondering (or scratching) go over to Rocks in My Dryer for some more itchy informative links.

7 Comments

  1. Posted February 20, 2008 at 11:16 pm | Permalink

    That is awesome. You can do so much with baking soda….

    You have been tagged for the “What’s On Your Refrigerator?” meme. It is a Meme and a contest! I’ll be giving away two free books. Read all about it at http://heartofwisdom.com/heartathome

  2. Posted February 20, 2008 at 11:41 pm | Permalink

    I’m just itching reading your post. I’m going to try this. So, do you mix a teaspoon of the baking soda into the amount of shampoo you’re going to use that day? Or is that about a teaspoon per whole bottle?

  3. Posted February 21, 2008 at 12:27 am | Permalink

    Wow, I am going to have to try that. My head gets dry as well, especially during the winter. Thanks for the idea.

  4. Posted February 21, 2008 at 9:06 am | Permalink

    I am with Burger Mom on that one…I wonder why it works…oh, and I am going to ask the same question do you use it per bottle or per dose? and do you do it every day or just once in awhile?

  5. Posted February 21, 2008 at 3:14 pm | Permalink

    Great tip! I’ll have to try this instead of plunking down too much money for T-Gel (which works but smells like a bottle of tar). I am also curious – 1 tsp with the amt. you use for the day, or 1 tsp in your whole bottle?

  6. texasknights
    Posted February 21, 2008 at 7:31 pm | Permalink

    I just add a bit to my regular lump of shampoo in my hand, mix it in the palm of my hand and thoroughly massage it into my scalp. I estimate I use about a tsp. But it might be more or less.
    I find that once every two weeks or so does the trick. But when the weather tends to change so frequently (like it is currently doing here in Texas), I need to do it more often.

  7. Posted February 26, 2008 at 10:14 am | Permalink

    Wow! I have struggled with my itchy head most of my life, and never tried this one! T-Gel works, but this would be much cheaper!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

