My Firsts

Michelle over at My Semblance of Sanity tagged me suggested doing this.  I enjoyed reading hers and I hope you enjoy reading mine.

1. Who was your FIRST prom date?
Brad something and I don’t want to say any more.  Awful.  Absolutely awful! 

2. Do you still talk to your FIRST love?
Um, no.  That is if you are referring to my first boyfriend.  I thought I was in love.  Maybe I was.  I like to say that my first love was my husband.  It only took me four years to realize it.  He is a patient man.  And very tolerant.
3. What was your FIRST alcoholic drink?
This would be my first and last sip of alcohol.  I was studying abroad with my university.  Actually, I was student teaching in England and of course the main evening activity was visiting all the English pubs.  I had no interest whatsoever but I was not going to sit alone in my little room at the YMCA.  We made a little trip to Scotland one weekend and there I tasted cider.  It is a weaker beer (so I was told).  I actually tolerated the drink and asked for another.  To say I was loopy would be the understatement of the year.  That is why it was my last.   I am now wondering if my parents knew about this.  If they didn’t, they do now.  They read my blog. 

4. What was your FIRST job?
Babysitting.  I was THE QUEEN BABYSITTER in our town.  Parents would call me months in advance to book me.  Apparently I was good.  Wish that would have carried over to my mothering!  I was a counselor at Camp Ozark and Kanakuk a few summers between college semesters.  LOVED it.  Still have a dream to own my own camp.  I really want to run a camp for special needs kiddos.

5. What was your FIRST car?
The first car I drove was my mom’s Buick LeSabre.  Then I was granted the privilege of driving my mom’s brand new 1990 Suburban.  I was hot stuff.  The summer after my sophomore year at Baylor, my Mamaw bought me a brand new Honda Civic.  Never have had anything besides a Honda since that purchase. 

6. Who was the FIRST person to text you today?
Typically, the only one who text messages me is my brother and that is not often.  Today I did receive a text and it was from a strange dealy about a singles dating service.  I have no clue.

7. Who is the FIRST person you thought of this morning?
My dear husband who was not in my bed.  He was somewhere near the Mexico border in a hotel room.  

8. Who was your FIRST grade teacher?
Mrs. Goode.  I thought she was older than dirt but I liked her.  I even thought she was dumb so I pretended to be asleep during a class activity so I would not have to do the work.  Hmmmmmmm… I wonder how many of my first graders will someday write about me.  What a thought!

9. Where did you go on your FIRST ride on an airplane?
Not completely sure but it was most likely from Houston to Jackson, Mississippi to visit grandparents.  We usually drove but I know we flew occasionally.

10. Who was your FIRST best friend and are you still friends with them?
Cary Bohn was my first friend and husband.  Please keep in mind that I was six.  So was he.  We apparently played daily and our favorite thing to do was get married.  Mom was always a fine minister.

11. What was your FIRST sport played?
Softball.  I was a Ladybug.  I was a very pathetic Ladybug.  I am sure I looked like a little bug out there in right field picking flowers. 

12. Where was your FIRST sleep over?
So this is where I spill the beans and let the whole bloggyland know that I wet the bed until I was way too old.  Considering that my childhood existed before the creation of Goodnights, I preferred to stay home.  I also was just a plain ole homebody.  I do think I went to a girl named Heather’s house one block over.  I remember calling Mom.  Not sure why.  That is the same sleepover when I remember hearing my voice on a recording and heard others laughing.  I had a severe speech impairment.  It rarely stopped me from being my hyper, happy self but for some reason that night it seemed as if my voice really stood out.  I was mortified. 

13. Who was the FIRST person you talked to today?
My nine year old son.   For the first time in ages, I allowed him to sleep with me since Daddy was away.  He loved it.  He is a stinkin’ early riser so at 5:59am, he wanted to start a conversation.  I think I heard something about Mom, up, fix breakfast, now. 

14. Whose wedding were you in the FIRST time?
I was NEVER a flowergirl and I am still bitter.  But I made up for it by being a bridesmaid 8 times before I was even engaged.  Pitiful.  I was pretty convinced that I would be an old maid school teacher.

15. What was the FIRST thing you did this morning?
Had a conversation with that nine year old.  And I have no clue about what. 

16. What was the FIRST concert you ever went to?
Oh!  I am sure my folks toted me to a Gaithers concert.   I do remember being totally giddy about seeing Amy Grant in concert at Six Flags in 1986.  I knew I was cool.

17. FIRST tattoo or piercing?
Ears when I was 9.  Contemplated getting a tattoo like my roommate, Tonya, but after seeing the guy (and place) who did it, I backed out.  This is another fact that just might be news to the folks.

18. FIRST foreign country you went to?
Besides stepping over the border a time or to over to Mexico, my first real adventure out of country was in England – the six week student teaching experience.

19. What was your FIRST run in with the law?
Got pulled over by a Oklahoma state trooper on my way home from working at Kanakuk camps the summer before I graduated from college.  Can you believe that I told that trooper that I hated Oklahoma?  Yes, I did.  I shocked myself but I was convinced I would not cry so I guess I pulled out a sassy attitude.  And you will be surprised to know that the trooper told me that I did not sound like a Texan and he hated Texas as much as I hated Oklahoma!  Due to the gift of having a speech impairment (and ultimately not sounding a bit like a native Texan), I was handed a warning with a smile and a “have a nice day.”

20. When was your FIRST detention?
Never had one.  Would a small town school do that to their star runner?   Don’t think so.  Same reason I miraculously passed chemistry with an A.  Really, I was a good teenager but had an attitude with the parents.  Never would have dreamed of doing something to deserve a detention.  All I did was babysit and run.  And then run some more and babysit again.  I made decent grades and stayed out of trouble (most of the time). 

21. What was the FIRST state you lived in?
Texas. 

22. Who was the FIRST person to break your heart?
Michael McNellis.  He decided to tell me I was not for him the night before I flew to England.  But I was a very sweet gal who would one day make a guy a great wife.   He was 10 years older than me and I met him at camp.  He was a clothier.  Me?  With a clothier?  That should have been my first clue. 

23. Who was your FIRST roommate?
Shirley Hollingshead. We shared a dorm room at Howard Payne University in Deadwood  Brownwood. 

24. Where did you go on your FIRST limo ride?
I want to say my Papaw’s funeral.  I don’t know if I have ridden in one since then.
Wanna play? Tag yourself, link to me, and get your groove on! 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

