Happy Birthday to my (other) mom

She goes by many names.  Our favorite name for this beautiful woman is GRAN.  I personally think we should have started calling her Grand.  In actuality, I did call her Grand for the first few months of my son’s life.  He was the first grandchild on both sides of the family so we put pressure on our folks to come up with names for themselves. I thought my MIL said Grand, not Gran.  Somehow we got it right and the name is quite popular with our kids.  So is the lady. 

I love my husband’s mother and am so blessed to have her in my life.  I am blessed to have my very own mom but I am doubly blessed to have Gran in my life.  She loves me.  There is also something unexplainable about the love we share for my kids.  There is just something to be said about watching somebody else love your children (almost) as much as you do. 

Things we like about Gran:  Her soft, long hands and lovely painted nails.  I have NEVER seen her nails unpainted.

I have also rarely seen her bare feet.  She is constantly wearing shoes.  We DO NOT have that in common.

Her gift of service.  You need something, she is there.  And I don’t mean she is there for just us.  She would do anything for anybody.  Ask anyone at her very large church.  What would they do without Gran? 

The gentle spirit she has with her two grown children (yes, one being my beloved).  I wish I could have been a fly on the wall to see her with her very own little ones. 

The way she raised my husband.  I thanked her tonight for giving me such a wonderful man and raising him so well.  She replied that he could have raised himself.  Sure, he is extremely easy by nature but she made him that much better.  🙂 

I could name more but I am sure she is blushing by now.  Oh!  I love the way she is so humble and easily blushes.  She might not speak to me now.  yikes

Here are a few pics from tonight’s (belated) little bash we had in her honor. 

dscf3618.jpg

I was unable to get a serious picture out of these three scallywags.  They were wound up tonight.  We stayed home ALL day long (we never do that) so there was plenty of energy floating around this house tonight. uuugh

dscf3625.jpg

Below is our family picture in the mountains.  Uncle Richard is missing.  I guess I should have Photoshopped him in.  🙂

dscf2162.jpg

Gran with Baby Daniel (the husband’s sister’s child).

dscf2208.jpg

Little Miss and Gran busy in the kitchen (did I mention that Gran is also a wonderful cook?).

dscf2821.jpg

Pumpkin and Gran this time last year.

claire-stealing-a-hug.jpg

Gran stealing a hug from the newly turned 5 year old in September.

p9080025.jpg

We love Gran and are so blessed to have her in our family!  Happy birthday, Gran!!!

One Comment

  1. Siv
    Posted March 17, 2008 at 10:24 pm | Permalink

    What sweet words and ADORABLE photos with Daniel and the girls. Our babies are growing up so fast – I can’t believe it!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

