5 Minute Marvels – Episode 1

A couple of weeks ago I started reading Owlhaven blog and have thoroughly enjoyed reading about her life as a mom to 10.  Yes, TEN.  She certainly has tons to write about and I so enjoy her perspective.  Thanks Mary!  One idea she had recently was 15 Minutes Better.  She records little actions she took throughout the day just to make her day a wee bit better. 

I stole the idea.

I decided to call it 5 Minute Marvels.

I am aiming smaller.  I do believe I will be more successful that way.  I once read in a women’s magazine years ago when I was in the midst of toddlerville about taking advantage of 5 minute breaks for mothering and cleaning here and there.  I took that advice to heart and would play on the floor with a tot then run to the bathroom, clean the toilet, and then return to wipe a nose or handle a squabble.  I would even run to the kitchen, set the timer, and do a small part in preparing supper (like chop onions). 

 It worked for a while. 

But I have a chronic problem.  I am an extremist.  I give it my all or nothing at all.  So this theory of doing things in small increments kills me.  I don’t like it.  If I start something, I prefer to finish it.  If I clean the toilet, I want the whole bathroom to sparkle.  NOW! 

I told you it was a problem. 

Well, I find that my ways carry over into my mothering and now into my teaching again.  Uuuugh!  I annoy myself. 

Thanks to the reminder from reading Owlhaven, I realized once again that every little minute counts, whether it be reading a quick book to the 5 year old, unloading the dishwasher while singing and dancing, reading the sports section of The Dallas Morning News with the Lad, or taking those 5 minutes on the couch with the husband.  OR picking up the Good Book and reading a few scriptures.  I tend to think that if I can’t sit down and do a 45 minute Bible study, then why bother. 

I am willing to change. 

No guarantees but I am going to give it whirl. 

So I will randomly post what I have done or experienced that made me marvel over who God is, the joy of mothering, teaching, or being a wife, or just some minuscule thing I chose to do that made my day (or somebody else’s) better.

I will insert a warning.  Some of the things I mention will sound absolutely lame to you but if I take the time to post it, then it means it was worth it to somebody in this neck of the woods. 

This morning I had tons on my mental to do list.  Most of it involved laundry and sorting clothes belonging to the little people of this house.  Pumpkin had a friend call to invite her over to play so I had to get out in the pouring rain.  I took the other two and headed to the mall to look for a few items.  Before I left I was determined to accomplish a few things.  The main task was to assemble supper so when I returned, supper would be a snap to finish.  The girls came in the kitchen asking for this and that and I felt my nerves going bonkers.  But I stopped.  Pumpkin asked if she could peel the carrots and celery.  I was saying NO inside but then I realized if I gave them 5 minutes of glory in the kitchen, I could have my 10 remaining I needed. 

It was a success.  They took turns using the peeler and thought the pile in the sink was pretty. 

Not only did I have peace, I was able to squeeze a healthy snack into those two little bodies.  They were disappointed that I limited the number of “long” carrots they ate.  I needed them for supper!  They also had peanut butter on celery.

I was satisfied.

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 18, 2008 at 8:12 pm | Permalink

    I so hear you about the bible study stuff. It is such a challenge for me to grab the minutes when I can to try and do a piece of something…especially read a few quick scriptures here and there. I am glad that the kitchen adventures went well. I would love to have a carrot peeler 🙂 By the way, I am so sorry I have been a comment slacker lately…I’m reading, I promise 😉

  2. Posted March 18, 2008 at 11:23 pm | Permalink

    Good job!!!!!!

    mary

  3. sincerelyanna
    Posted March 21, 2008 at 6:35 pm | Permalink

    Great idea!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

