He made me do it!

A few weeks ago I was chatting with my fitness instructor.  She had made some cool looking “business” cards advertising boot camps and her other services and I was oohing and aahing over them.  I complimented her on her creation.  She half laughed and responded,  “Thanks.  This was one of those things God told me to do.”  I could clearly tell that she was not too keen on the idea.  Well, only keen on obeying God and therefore happy to do as HE asked.  That is one of the things I love about my new friend.  🙂

Her phrase has stuck with me this week.  It has made me contemplate obedience.  For years, my husband and I have prayed daily for our children to “have happy hearts to be obedient.”  But how often do I act out of obedience even when I don’t want to?  And what is my attitude?  We require our children to be obedient but long for them to be joyful in the midst of it. 

And isn’t that what God longs for us?  To have a spirit of obedience?  To love Him so much that we will do anything and everything He calls us to do.  Even when we feel a bit silly over the request.  And to rejoice in the simple fact that we are CALLED to obey and have the privilege of serving our awesome Savior. 

So the next time God tells me to do something, I will joyfully yell out, “HE MADE ME DO IT!” 

Ephesians 2:10

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

1 Thessalonians 5:16

“Be joyful always.”

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

