Being blessed by the unexpected

I can list over a million things about my husband that make me proud.  Really, I could list a million.  He is that wonderful.  It remains a mystery why on earth the man chose me as his wife.  I think I will halt further questioning and just relish in the joy that comes from being his Mrs.  I love loving him. 

My husband is the most genuine and sincere male you will ever meet.  He is full of compassion, humility, and meekness.  He loves the Lord with a passion that I long for.  He is so very obedient to the Lord.  I am convinced that we have been blessed beyond measure (I particularly mean financially) because of his unconditional love and obedience to the Father.

 We made a big decision about 7 years ago to move from the Washington DC area back to our homeland, Texas.  Moving back to “home” was a no brainer for me but I think my husband had a heavier weight on his shoulders.  He wanted to be closer to our families and be back in an environment we felt comfortable in but he also was struggling to lead our young family.  He was trying to provide for us in the midst of figuring out what he wanted to do when he grew up.  Let me just say sitting around waiting for God to tell you what to do does not necessarily put food on the table.  During this period of time, we were reproducing like a bunch of rabbits.  We were like a bunch of rabbits without our own place to dwell.  To say I was frustrated would be a huge understatement. 

When the opportunity for him to work for Buckner International arose, he was thrilled.  So was I.  What did that mean?  Well, it was a turning point for him in choosing a career path, one that would possibly be his passion for years to come. 

You see, we were in DC for the man to complete his masters degree in Interantional Studies – Russian Economics.  He had high hopes of being an ambassador or employed by the State Department.  All those years of waiting for the right job to come along were frustrating but all along he knew that missions was on his mind.  And his heart. 

I knew it too.  (gulp)  What I knew was that it most likely involved moving to Russia.  Not too sure about that.

When he chose to step into full time ministry, we knew that our financial state would be strained for a long time.  Our current financial state just seemed temporary.  I knew we would someday be free from the chains of a low income and tight budget.  So agreeing to the Buckner deal was a way to get “home” but also forced me  to surrender my expectations.  That is not so easy for this got-to-know-what-is-going-on girl. 

Years have gone by fast.  My husband’s salary has not grown greatly but his passion and experience have.  I am so very proud of him.  I know he is obedient to God’s call on his life.  I rejoice with him in his ministry.  It is so fun to find out at the supper table what happened at work.  You just never know. 

All of that rambling was a mere preface to sharing some fun things about his job/ministry. 

Check out more of what my husband’s ministry involves and how God is bigger than it all. 

Click here.  Go ahead, do it. 

My husband is in the first picture in the article.  He is wearing a black polo shirt and is kneeling in front of the man in the straw hat. 

Buckner has had several great unexpected blessings over the years.  I have also experienced unexpected joy and peace as we follow God’s calling.  I knew being married to my best friend would be sensational but I never imagined it would be so fulfilling and joyful.  I sure am glad God is in control and knows what we need. 

Besides, I am pretty certain being married to some dignified snobby ambassador would be awfully boring.

 

One Comment

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted May 19, 2008 at 9:49 pm | Permalink

    It’s been a privilege to witness first-hand (from a distance now) how God has led you guys through A’s career path. I knew how frustrating the wait was when you were in DC, but I’m sooooo glad God brought you there for that time. Your story of humble beginnings and living out of basements is filled with God-glorifying tales. You always gave so much of yourselves in spite of the stress. We love you guys!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

