Our sick little girl

So much for my busy fun-filled week!  I was so looking forward to dropping ALL THREE kiddos at a local VBS and having 5 mornings to myself.  15 hours of liberty.  I was just about giddy about the opportunity. 

Then one sweet little girl ended up feeling like this:

If you know Little Miss then seeing her lay limp and moan and groan for hours would completely shock you.   She is a live wire!

Little Miss has had a persistent cough for about a week but it didn’t seem to phase her (or me).  Well, not until Saturday night.  She was great at all the wedding happenings but was puny.  By the time the reception rolled around after the ceremony, she was grumpy and coughing up a lung.  When she starts coughing consistently, it usually ends up in throwing up.  I will spare you the details. 

By late Saturday night, she had spiked a fever over 102 degrees.  I was suspicious that she was running a low grade fever Friday and Saturday but refused to admit it.  We had a wedding and she was the starflowergirl. She was up the majority of Saturday night hacking.  By Sunday morning, she was miserable.  I stayed home from church.  That NEVER happens.  We ALWAYS go, even when we do not feel well.  I am sure other moms love me for that.  🙂

She perked up around mid-morning and did just fine the rest of the day . . . until last night when her fever shot back up to 103.  She did not sleep comfortably at all.

So . . . after I dropped the older two off at VBS, Little Miss and I headed to the Dr. office.  I was so pleased that I was able to schedule an appointment that left me plenty of time to return at 11:45 to fetch the kiddos and then head to swim lessons. 

Ah, the best laid plans . . .

Little Miss and I did not walk out of that office until almost 1pm.  We were there over THREE hours!!!  The nurses were unable to get her oxygen level at a happy level and the Dr. was concerned about her dehydrating.  The poor child was limp as a rag doll and kept falling asleep on my shoulder, even during one of the two breathing treatments. 

Long story short – they were able to keep her out of the hospital (for now) by giving her IV fluids and a strong dose of IV antibiotics.  She definitely perked up but still had 102.9 when we left to get chest x-rays.  The poor thing was basically asleep standing up during her x-ray.  She was miserable the whole morning but so cooperative.  I was so thankful for her peace.  I was praying.  It broke my heart to realize that she did not put up a fight because she simply did not have it in her. 

We finally left and grabbed a bite to eat.  (Well, I ate.)  Little  Miss asked me to order a medium water at Chick-fil-a.  Not a small or a large.  Medium.  Too cute.  We fetched the other children and then got home at 3:30.  She crawled into my bed and dozed off and on.   I took her fever only to discover she had 104.4!!!!  My kids have never had that high of a fever.  NEVER .

I somehow got a full dose of Advil in the child.  That is a miracle for she has a massive gag reflex and can’t swallow meds.  I put her in a cool bath.  While bathing her, the Dr. called to confirm that she did indeed have pneumonia.  We discussed the high fever.  I checked Little Miss’ temp again and was happy to report that it had gone down a full degree. 

By the time Daddy walked in the door, she was up walking around and even begging to go outside.  I don’t think the husband believed me when I said she was lethargic all day.  Her fever is holding steady at 102 something.  I am so happy to see her moving and talking again. 

Well, I think so.

5 Comments

  1. Posted June 9, 2008 at 10:53 pm | Permalink

    oh no! I totally get about the 15 hours of peace while your kids are at VBS – this year I’m helping, but last year I was craving that 15 hours for weeks ahead of time! I’m so sorry that she is sick – and so sick at that. Hope she feels better soon and that you don’t pass it around.

  2. Siv
    Posted June 10, 2008 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    Oh, I’m so sorry she is sick! I hope she’s feeling better by now. Let me know how your dr. visit goes today.

  3. Posted June 10, 2008 at 4:23 pm | Permalink

    Pneumonia is no fun! Andrew had it last year and it took him (a healthy 11 year old boy at the time) a long time to get over it. I have never seen anything like it in our family. Sorry she is feeling so badly. The antibiotics and fluids and rest should help.

  4. Posted June 11, 2008 at 7:05 pm | Permalink

    Ick! Is it possible that Bean shared his sickness with Little Miss via the world wide web?? I’m prayin for you both! Sick kiddos are SO not fun!

  5. Posted June 12, 2008 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

    Glad to hear she is feeling better.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

