The Lad is off to camp

Today was a first for me.  I sent my oldest child off to a five day sleepaway camp.

It really hasn’t phased me one bit besides thinking, “OOOH.  What fun the girls and I will have all week.” 

Last night as I tucked the pre-camper into bed, I realized that nobody will be giving him a back massage tonight (yes, he is a spoiled momma’s boy – but if you really knew him, you would say he was a Daddy’s boy).  Who will pray over him?  Who will make sure he brushes his teeth?  He better be drinking his water.  It is 101 degrees today.  Will he change his underwear?  I packed his clothes in large ziplock bags with all he would need for the day but announced this morning that I should squeeze in a few extra pair of undies just in case.  My husband gave me a look and shook his head. 

I really am not sad that he is away from me.  Okay, I am lying.  I am a bit concerned about all that I mentioned before and a few others I do not have room to list.  What caused that tear to start trailing down my face was that MY CHILD, my firstborn, is old enough to walk onto that big charter bus and sit down with some other goofy almost 10 year olds and be just fine. 

I do not, however, think he was fine with me insisting on one more hug.  He is rarely annoyed by me (he exults in silliness) but today, for the first time, he seemed to gently push me away.  Not really a push, just a nudge.  He need not use words.  His little gesture told me all I needed to know. 

I stepped back, smiled at him, and walked away. 

It was time. 

And looky here.  I was obviously not the only parent waiting around until those three big buses pulled out of the parking lot.

And the silliness?  I think he will be in his element.

Please pray for him and the other kids this week!

And please pray for poor Mr. Carl, his counselor. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Posted June 16, 2008 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    Hope he has a great week at camp. We sent 14 of our church kids off to camp this morning too. Since this was my older son’s second time, I knew better what to pack (or not pack) this year. We encouraged him to shower and change clothes more often this year, since last year he only showered and changed clothes once. I gave him a hug at home, as I knew I wouldn’t get one later. 🙂

  2. Sheli
    Posted June 18, 2008 at 9:22 pm | Permalink

    This makes me sad, and it wasn’t even my son. I can’t imagine how I will feel…Logan will be the one to push me away. He has already gotten to where he doesn’t really care for my hugs and kisses very much…although I give them freely all the time. Luke will be the one to get just one more hug…or at least that is what I am going to tell myself right now so that I do not start crying three years early!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

