I need a good laugh

Today has been a rough one.  No, actually it has been a rough week.  Well, come to think of it, my summer has not gone as planned and has been a bit on the rocky side.   I could keep blabbing but I will get back to my point.   I do hope I have one. 

I will spare you the happenings of my day that put me in a foul mood.  The foul mood just put me into a deeper funk.  Now I am in funk so deep because I am not happy about being in a funk over little minute things. 

I just read the previous sentence and realized that maybe I am just crazy and unable to think (or write) clearly.

My point?  Right. 

I have fought tears all day and have been able to escape a flood.  I was sharing some events of the day with a friend via telephone.  We hung up and a few minutes later, while I was unable to answer the phone, she left me a message.  A quick and to the point message.  “Just laugh.”  That was that.  I had been focussing so much on not crying all day that I failed to dwell on the opposite.

So I decided to laugh. 

It didn’t work.  I really did not see much to laugh about.  That made me mad because I need to laugh. 

Scripture is good and I just happened to bump into a dear friend at Target this afternoon who is faithful in sharing God’s truths with me.  “Aaaahh . . .”  Scripture is refreshing. 

I still need to laugh. 

I am doing something I have never done and asking you, my internetty friends, to share something with me that will make me giggle.  If you desire to share scripture with me, that will be fine too. My God has a great humor too, you know.  For those of you who read daily and do not comment, shame, shame, go ahead and branch out and tell me something to shake up my funny bone.  Tell a joke – a CLEAN one,  your most embarrassing story, something your kid said, etc.   If you are a lurker, time to introduce yourself by giving me a boost.

Thanks so much. 

I am off to find my yoga mat so I can stretch my stomach muscles and get ready for a good laugh.

6 Comments

  1. Posted June 18, 2008 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    Let me see what I can do for you…:)

    I’m not intending to plug my blog, but you can read about how a few days ago my mother in law went to work and forgot her teeth!!! that gave us a good laugh!

    or how about a little heart smile – my 3yrold son sings this song loudly wherever we go: in the supermarket, at kindy, at church “I am the Way, The truf if da life, dats what Jejus says”.

    and one from the word – “But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed but not in despair; persecuted but not abandoned; struck down but not destroyed.”2 Cor 4:7-9

    ok one more to ponder on… read Psalm 37:1-8 and write down all the things God asks us to do (or not do).

    and… I just prayed for you.

    Hope that helps!

  2. Posted June 19, 2008 at 6:40 am | Permalink

    Oh, I am not one to be able to think of a joke off the top of my head. I wish I could, actually I don’t really tell jokes, my humor is pretty dry.
    Hope tomorrow turns around for you!
    Toni

  3. Posted June 19, 2008 at 8:31 am | Permalink

    The story about the 3-year-old singing at the supermarket reminded me of my 7-year-old who likes to sing the Star-Spangled Banner in the shower. I’m not sure where he picked up that song, but we printed the words for him so he could learn the whole first verse.

    I posted a picture on my Pockets of Time blog that was meant to be funny. 🙂

    Hope today has you laughing!

  4. Posted June 19, 2008 at 8:48 am | Permalink

    Okay, honestly, maybe this is a little insensitive of me, but this made me laugh:
    “That made me mad because I need to laugh.” If you think about it, it’s funny that you tried to laugh, couldn’t, and got mad. Okay, maybe I’m weird.

    Other than that, you can laugh about my husband trying to change my son’s diaper. He recently discovered that when his diaper is off, there are new body parts to explore. This doesn’t work very well with a poopy diaper. So he got his hands all in his poop, then, as Nathan was trying to block his hands from getting back into the diaper or (God forbid) going into his mouth, he stuck his feet in it. Then Nathan didn’t know WHAT to do, and Noah put his poopy feet all over the changing table and his hands on his outfit. It was a poop disaster. I’m just a little happy about the fact that it was Nathan and not me that had to deal with the poopy hands and feet!

  5. Posted June 19, 2008 at 6:47 pm | Permalink

    Hopefully, your mood is improved today, but I could share my favorite pregnant moment with you.

    I was especially tired during my first pregnancy because we had recently moved to Colorado and the high-altitude. So my body was working overtime to make extra blood for the altitude and the pregnancy. I remember having to concentrate to sit up at my chair at work.

    One night, I could not wait to crawl my body into bed. One of my bedtime routines was to fill the 2 gallon humidifier with water. Which I did. And. forgot. to. screw. the. cap. back on.

    Yes, that means that I dumped 2 gallons of water all over the bathroom, the floor, myself ….

    *deep sigh* Fun times! 🙂

  6. Posted June 20, 2008 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

    Don’t know if you still need this…but let me embarrass myself for your laughing enjoyment…

    My first day of student teaching 8th and 9th graders…I was at home hurriedly nursing my newborn daughter right before I drove to the school for my first day. I was observing that day, so I sat at the back of the class watching. Suddenly I realized that I wasn’t wearing a bra. I’d meant to change it after I nursed, but forgot to put the new one on.

    I managed to cover my chest area until lunchtime when I dashed home to put on a bra.

    My husband still says it’s a good thing that I got out of teaching so that I wouldn’t end up on the front page of a newspaper.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

