Keeping those kiddos writing during the summer

WfmwbannerI was pondering a few days ago about having anything to share again for Works-For-Me Wednesday.  It occured to me that during the summer I find that I am very unstructured and can’t claim to have a lot that works for me. 

Until I glanced over at the kiddos busy on what works for me.   

Yep, they are reading AND writing.  Well, the Lad was not too into my whole idea today so his writing was slim and basically unacceptable.  But Momma is a teacher and has no qualms about making him do it over. 

My goal originally was to write a message to each child to read EVERY morning.  Well, I have not been that faithful in pursuing it b/c we have had kids all over the place this summer (camps, friends, etc).  When we are home, however, I am trying something similar that I do in my first grade classroom – a morning message.  Of course I am making it more personal.  I write my older kids a note in their spiral notebooks and ask questions that require them to reply.  I try to use words that are on or above their reading level and challenge them to write a response that is decent.  They want to take shortcuts and answer briefly.  Some days we are in a hurry and that is okay.  Other days I am more available and require more. 

I use this time to not only keep them reading and writing but to encourage them and write things I appreciate about them.  I always sneak in an I LOVE YOU too. 

So far, it works for me – but please do not ask the children for their opinions.  :0

 For more tips, visit Rocks in My Dryer. 

 

7 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted June 25, 2008 at 6:50 pm | Permalink

    Great idea – whenever you have educational ideas I listen up!

  2. Posted June 25, 2008 at 8:04 pm | Permalink

    That is a great idea! I was just feeling frustrated toady because my son is whining and throwing a fit every time I tell him it is reading and writing time, and I was out of ideas to make it work. I may have to try this. Any other great ideas? I’ve tried taking away privileges until the reading is done, buying him fancy workbooks, even paying him per page, and he still won’t do it without a battle. I could really use help wit this.

  3. Posted June 25, 2008 at 11:33 pm | Permalink

    Love this idea! I’m going to have to try this!!!

  4. Posted June 26, 2008 at 7:09 pm | Permalink

    First time here … wow, you are an English teacher’s dream mom! This is a great idea, and it wil be a wonderful keepsake, if you choose to hang on to them.

  5. Posted June 27, 2008 at 10:09 am | Permalink

    This is a great idea! My soon to be second-grader would love this as she’s bitten by the writing bug just as much as her mom!

    Thanks for stopping by Writer-Mommy! Hope you won’t need my WFMW tip anytime soon!

  6. Posted June 27, 2008 at 9:00 pm | Permalink

    LURV this idea!

  7. Posted June 29, 2008 at 9:14 pm | Permalink

    Oh man! The teacher in me is LOVING this! I am totally going ot steal this in a few years….LOVE IT!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

