A camping she will go

Oh mylanta!  This girl was ready to go to camp.  I lost count how many times she asked when we would leave.  One would have thought our journey to camp was long and tedious based on the number of times we heard, “How much longer?” 

I don’t think you can see this schedule too clearly but let’s just say that Pumpkin’s days at camp will be FULL. 

I wasn’t so sure about saying goodbye.  I was a bit sad leaving her but to be honest, I was more jealous that I was not staying and reliving my days as a camp counselor.  I will confess that watching those college kids scream themselves hoarse and sweating bullets made me feel old.  Not too sure I could handle it in my older age. 

Do you see the swimsuit in the child’s hand?  When we walked her back to her cabin for our final goodbyes, she caught a glimpse of her cabinmates dressing for the pool (or lake) and she quickly ran to her trunk and grabbed what she needed.  She evidently had no time for hugs.  She had a schedule to keep and friends to make. 

So I gave her a quick squeeze and made myself leave, being confident that we made the right choice for our girl.  I am so anxious to hear all about it. 

Now if I can figure out a way to sneak myself back into that camp -and maybe into a younger body too. 

4 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted June 29, 2008 at 11:28 pm | Permalink

    Oh! She will have some kind of fun!

  2. bloginmyeye
    Posted June 30, 2008 at 9:41 am | Permalink

    “Oh Mylanta!” That’s a keeper. I’m thinking of camp for my girl next summer. Hope she has a blast.

  3. Siv
    Posted June 30, 2008 at 9:07 pm | Permalink

    I love her short haircut! So cute!! Mom forwarded me Pumpkin’s address and I sent her a letter at camp. I’m sure she’s having a wonderful time.

  4. Posted July 4, 2008 at 8:25 am | Permalink

    I just love the picture of her on that trunk!!! Can’t wait to hear about her time there!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

