Hmmmmmmmm….maybe God wants me to LET GO

Tonight the kids started a week-long VBS at a church down the street from our house.  I have never been a big fan of VBS at night due to the kids staying up way too late and it cutting into our family time.

Well, I now have a new love – sitting at our dining room table ALONE with the husband SLOWLY eating supper.  It was pure contentment.   We were able to carry on a decent and somewhat meaningful conversation.

One topic we covered was my schedule (or lack thereof) this summer.  I made a comment on how I STINK at making and keeping my own schedule.  As soon as those words flowed out of my mouth I laughed nervously.  My very own statement jerked a bit of conviction out of my heart. 

You know what?  God wants me to not even try. 

Ahem. 

This made me contemplate how God is concerned with everything in my life, even my calendar.  I know the Lord wants me to let go of everything – not just what I put on my planner – and trust him.  This summer, without a plan, I have realized that my dependency on the Lord is sporadic but absolutely necessary.  My desire is to have HIM as my ultimate planner b/c in all honesty He IS in control and even knows the number of my days. 

Psalm 33:11 (New International Version)

 11 But the plans of the LORD stand firm forever,
       the purposes of his heart through all generations.

Something about His plans standing firm comforts me while I live a rather impulsive life at times.

Wouldn’t I be rather clever if I just let it go and allowed Him to have my life and mold me into the woman He so wants to create in me!?!?!?  I long to have more meaningful days, even moments with and for my children.  I want what we do to not only glorify God but to serve as steps in the process of God’s calling on their lives.  In order to do this I need to be sensitive to HIS plans – not just make my own.

The husband and I are about to embark on a mission trip to Guatemala in the next few weeks.  My prayer request for the trip?  (I had to think about it because it’s one of the questions on the application!)

“My prayer request is that I can be okay not knowing what to expect and not being in control (I like being a planner and the one who calls the shots!). I pray that I can let go this week and allow God to use me as He desires.”

Not just a good prayer request for my trip – a good one for my life!  Easier said than done . . . I need to remember to keep working on it!

Maybe I’ll go put it on my calendar . . .

2 Comments

  1. Posted July 14, 2008 at 10:53 pm | Permalink

    I definitely can relate to this post! Thanks so much for sharing and for the reminder. And for stopping over in my neck of the woods!

  2. Posted July 15, 2008 at 7:24 pm | Permalink

    So with you on this one. I am such a planner and it is hard sometimes to let go. But when we do, the blessings are inmeasureable!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

