Simple childhood pleasures

The husband and I have gone way beyond our normal spending this summer in providing a variety of acivities for our children.  I have started to feel a bit guilty about how we are not being as frugal as I know we once were. 

So yesterday as I stood in Wal-mart looking at the plethera of school supplies on sale, I was a bit hesitant to begask the husband if I could splurge and buy each child a box of crayons.  Looking at that huge bin of crayons brought back a wave of memories.  I love the smell.  I love the bright colors.  I esp. remember the one time my mom bought me the jumbo pack with a built in sharpener.  Oh I was truly Miss High Falutin’.

I am pretty certain the husband saw a bit of childhood in my eyes so he said YES.

To these!  Three boxes of brand new crayons.

I’m still trying to get over the guilt of spending a total of sixty-six cent on these treats. 

My guilt started fading as I pulled the surprise out of the Wal-mart bag this morning.  Fear of my children being disappointed in the treats loomed in my heart.  (I told you we have been spoiling them big time this summer so I was sure they would laugh at my attempt.) 

What did I hear? 

JOY! 

Even the Lad gave me a great big “Thanks, Mom.” 

The girls were yelling, ” Look, Sis!  Crayons!  My very own NEW box.”  They found paper and sat at the table for an hour drawing magnificent creations.

Here are a couple of their finished works:

Artwork by Pumpkin (age 8)     

       

Artwork by Little Miss (age 5)

So what about you?  What is a simple childhood pleasure you had?  OR what have you discovered that brings simple joy to your children?  It might be an item like a box of crayons OR an activity such as my recollection of my mom taking my bro and me to the park and allowing us to completely bury her under the leaves.  I loved it! 

THIS IS WHERE YOU INTERACT WITH ME. 

 I would love to hear from you.

What little things bring joy to your life?

5 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted July 16, 2008 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    Mini things (hee hee). I love the artwork – oh my gosh, the difference between a 5 year old girl’s art and a 5 year old boy’s. Oh my. Max draws mostly in black and there are a million scribbles and dashes to show where the “action” is taking place. It’s so funny how they’re different!

    Seriously, I’m about as giddy as you are with a new box of crayons. Or markers. Or POST-ITS!! Oh my, don’t get me started on how I feel about those!

  2. Posted July 17, 2008 at 9:22 am | Permalink

    I love buying new school supplies too, though July sales are a bit early for me. 🙂 Your girls are quite the artists.

    Yesterday was an action-packed one with baseball all morning (3 games between the 2 boys), followed by lunch and then off to the waterpark in the afternoon with friends. We had a blast there doing the waterslides, lazy river, and swimming. Then later my older son had swimming lessons followed by dinner and church.

    I think the most joyful times for me are watching the kids have such fun together and savoring the summertime moments that seem so fleeting.

  3. Posted July 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm | Permalink

    I went crazy buying school supplies at Walmart yesterday–pencils, scissors, crayons, colored pencils, markers, notebooks. The kids were in heaven…until I had to take everything away after Phoebe wrote over herself and chair and the floor with blue marker. She actually traced her feet on the floor!!! File that one under “No good deed goes unpunished!”

    So many simple pleasures from childhood–popsicles, fishsticks, pinwheels, wading pools.

    These days, I would say my simple pleasure would be BLT sandwiches. I wish I had one right now!

  4. bloginmyeye
    Posted July 17, 2008 at 9:21 pm | Permalink

    I loved it when my mom would take a walk with us. She always brought a little something back inside for us to enjoy and remember — an acorn cap, a pretty leaf.

  5. Posted July 21, 2008 at 10:25 pm | Permalink

    I love, love, love new crayons. I got a wonderful new box of 64 when I was in 8th grade and still had it until a few years ago, when I just added it to my kids’ mix of crayolas. I still had every single crayon. Some were mere nubs, but I still had them. Now crayons are much easier to come by (or we were just that poor). My kids have so many (it seems to be a popular gift from my family), they don’t have a true appreciation for them.

    I love the pictures. I need to scan more of my kids artwork. Such a great way to preserve them.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

