Happy Birthday to our handsome young squire

Oh how I want to kiss those squishy cheeks again. 

The following excerpt from my Expectant Journal was actually written by the husband (aka the proud new daddy) . 

July 30, 1998

You are finally here!!!!

As I write this you are lying just a few feet away in your hospital “bassinet.”  You are lying on your back and squirming around peacefully.  You are a precious baby.  Every part of you seems perfect – your eyes, your ears, your (long!) fingers, your little toes.  Of course, I’m biased – but so what?  I think you’re the best!

Your birth was pretty incredible.  It came after a pretty long ordeal. Mommy started having contractions at about 10:00pm on Tuesday night.  These lasted all through the night (and really aggravated Mommy!) and continued on through Wednesday morning.  The contractions started getting pretty regular towards late morning . . . but I won’t go into too many details about the labor.  I’ll just say that by 2am Mommy was very thankful for the jacuzzi!  Another 2 1/2 hours and Mommy’s body was ready for you to come (Mommy and Daddy were ready too!).  It was very amazing to see you born – hopefully you will get to see your son or daughter be born someday.  And to think that the same little boy I now hold in my arms is the same little creation that lived inside of Mommy for nine months.  AMAZING!

And now a letter written today to our first born . . .

Dear [Lad],

What a blessing you are to me!  I love having you as my son.  I always have a good time with you.  I love playing games, reading, and watching movies with you.  You are getting so smart that I have to try hard to beat you now!  I pray that you will keep getting smarter – and wiser too!  (Wisdom is knowing the right thing to do and doing it.)  I have no doubt that God has a great plan for you. He has given you a sharp, intelligent mind and a heart of compassion for others.  I’m glad that He has given me the chance to be your dad.

Happy Birthday!

I love you,

Dad

The Squire was thrilled that I asked Nana to watch the girlies so we could have a mother/son b-day treat.  He was actually looking forward to his checkup.  He is in the 50th percentile in both weight and height.  He was quite the chatty lad with the pediatrician.  I was beaming when the Dr. looked at me and said, “He certainly does not struggle with social skills any more, does he?”  If you only knew how he has struggled. 

We met Daddy for lunch at the Lad’s restaurant of his choice.  I was shocked AND delighted that he chose Cuba Libre over McDonalds.  Maybe he really is growing up.  He did, however, kept commenting that he was the only kid in that fancy grown up place.  It wasn’t fancy at all, sort of urbanish and trendy.  He loves the fancy tacos they serve.

Daddy returned to work and we headed over to Barnes and Nobles to spend his gift card.  (Thanks Aunt EJ!!!!) We walked down to the Cheescake Factory to indulge in their $1.50 per slice cheescake promotion (the price of a slice of cheesecake when they first opened 30 years ago).  Apparently we were not the only ones who knew about the special.  The Lad started to get upset about having to wait.  He said that all the other people waiting should let him go first because it was his birthday.  🙂  The poor lady in The Container Store saw his sad face and was rather disturbed by the fact that he did not get his cheap b-day cheesecake.  She stood there thinking about a way to get the boy a piece quick.  I told her not to worry.  We were heading to Toys R’Us to spend yet another gift card (or three).  I told the boy we would try The Cheesecake Factory about 3pm after the lunch crowd disappeared. 

We did return but the lunch crowd was still there.  I think it had something to do with cheap cheesecake!  🙂

We waited about 25 minutes and finally got our treat.  We had a lovely conversation and I was so proud to be sitting there with my son.  The waitress was very kind and assisted me in teaching my son about gratuity.  She made his little day by sneaking him a Sprite (which she overheard me denying him initially).  Even the folks next to us gave him a great big congratulations.  He was pleased.  So was I.

I am so thankful for all that the once-wee Knight is becoming.  One day he will be a mighty fine KNIGHT. 

And his momma couldn’t be more honored.

5 Comments

  1. Posted July 30, 2008 at 9:36 pm | Permalink

    What a special day!

  2. Posted July 30, 2008 at 10:12 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday! That is special what his dad wrote for him.

  3. sincerelyanna
    Posted July 30, 2008 at 11:38 pm | Permalink

    Great post – it was really cool to see those baby pictures that I recall SO vividly! (and those cheeks, as well!)

    Happy Birthday!!!

  4. Posted July 31, 2008 at 5:07 pm | Permalink

    OH sweet sweet sweet. Happy Birthday!

  5. EJ
    Posted July 31, 2008 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

    Another Happy Birthday to you! – I loved the blog and seeing again the baby pics that I remember so well. Your day sounded absolutely wonderful – and I loved the pic with you and your mom – one of the best I’ve seen. Love you!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

