Nerds

My son asked his dad a few nights ago if all smart people were nerds.  He also wanted to know if being a nerd was a bad thing, like a bad word. 

I am sure the husband handled the conversation with dignity but I am still unaware of the full details of the chat.  I would have liked to have been a fly on the wall though.  You see, my husband is rather brainy and not a jock type of guy.  So maybe, just maybe, he categorized himself as a nerd. 

But of course I would never think that (out loud).  Until last night.  I caught my husband online scanning through books.  Not surprising.  He loves books.  So do I.  It was actually a refreshing change to see him ordering something for himself.  I asked him what he had chosen and he so innocently turned around, looked at me, and replied, “A textbook from a college linguistics course.” 

A textbook. 

The man has been out of graduate school for 10 years and evidently has a secret desire to own more $220 textbooks. 

Didn’t we finally ditch the three boxes of Russian textbooks hogging all the space in the attic?

I’m just sayin. 

Ordering textbooks.  Seriously.  I hate to say it but the word nerd came to mind.

Then it left.  Then the word envious stuck in my head.  If only I could be the poster child for nerds.

Maybe I should look for a textbook online . . .

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 20, 2008 at 5:47 am | Permalink

    No no. Don’t even go there. There are way too many things to do with your life to be reading college textbooks – unless they’re in the field of childhood development or something. I LOVE reading, but at least make it useful! And leave the nerdiness to the husband!

  2. Posted August 20, 2008 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

    Funny post! I think being a nerd is coming back in style. 🙂

  3. Posted August 24, 2008 at 2:38 pm | Permalink

    As a card-carrying member of the “Nerd Herd,” I loved this post.

    Can I borrow that book when he is done? JUST KIDDING! 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Knightly Chats The Days of the Knights « Nerds […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

