T’was the Day Before School Starts and All Through the House

….you better bet there are creatures stirring about. 

Well, really it is this momma who is scurrying about.  Of course there is the sense of mom getting things in order for the kiddos – new lunch boxes labeled, clothes set out, etc, etc. 

But this momma (who also returns to school this fall as a first grade teacher again) felt the need to rush through the grocery store after church, buying anything we might possibly eat this week that falls under the catergory of healthy and possibly cheap.  I came home and made supper for tomorrow night (and froze half of that baked ziti for another crazy day), whipped up some banana bread for a yummy first day of school breakfast, and then put ingredients for whole wheat bread in the bread machine to knead . . . now it is in the oven and smells so yummy!  I made the kids’ lunches, cut up a pineapple and a watermelon and put part of the fruit in individual containers for lunches.  I did 2 loads of laundry, searched for those navy Mary Janes I knew Little Miss could fit into, and made calls concerning carpool.  I even talked to a few of my first grade parents.  Of course as I was chatting about my classroom management, I was wrestling with two of my very own monkeys. 

I might be in awe of how my husband desires to read textbooks, but he is in awe how I can multitask and accomplish so much in so little time.  But my head spins a lot . His does not.

Now I must go finish looking for those blasted shoes I just know Pumpkin outgrew last year.  I sure hope Little Miss can wear them.  She chose a navy jumper for her school uniform tomorrow.  Her new Nikes just would not look right!!! 

I am off to pull that yummy-smelling bread out of the oven and start wiping away the tears of sending my youngest child off to school.

Too bad I must go with her.  So much for the dream of raising all these preschoolers and one day kissing the last one good bye at the kindergarten door and gleefully (and probably tearfully) announcing my freedom.  But here I am on the eve of sending my baby off to school and I feel more tied down than ever. 

So much for freedom. 

I had a dream the other day that it was the first day of school and my class was in utter chaos and I had no control over those 6 year old monkeys.  If that dream (or a nightmare, as my son called it) comes true, I will be out of a job by tomorrow afternoon anyway.

Hmmmmm . . .

2 Comments

  1. Sheli
    Posted August 24, 2008 at 9:14 pm | Permalink

    I have been scurring about too…also a little teary eyed that my two oldest monkeys will be starting first grade!!
    Good luck tomorrow!

  2. Posted August 25, 2008 at 1:08 pm | Permalink

    I sat here in utter disbelief that you did all of that after church…until I realized that you meant the MORNING service, LOL!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

