Lunch time blues

Wfmwbanner

I have a little high falutin picky gal who we refer to as Pumpkin and who happens to be my pickiest eater.  And when I say picky, I don’t mean particular, I mean she EATS NOTHING. 

This has always bothered me, even when she refused any sort of stuff that resembled baby food at age 8 months.  Should have clued in. 

But I am slow like that.

Anyhoo…the start of a new school year brought out the Boot Camp Mama.  I exclaimed that supper time WILL be different and lunches would be jammed packed with wholesomeness (and a few love notes too).  I was ready for battle.  I was armed.  But when I approached the troops (esp the biggest enemy of eating) and showed them THIS, I heard happy squeals. I about fell over when Pumpkin asked, “May I help pack them every night?” 

Hmmmm.  Let me think about that.

Well, YEAH.

And would you believe that my little picky one has actually been excited about her lunches?  In the past, all I would hear was moans and groans of how other kids eat this or that (aka – SUGAR).  But tonight, she politely asked me to remove only one item. 

And please imagine my joy when it wasn’t the veggies, nor the fruit, nor the protein. 

It was the pretzels.  (I think she was on to me that they were minus high fructose corn syrup.)

Done.

I like to call these Lunchables on steroids.  Or vitamins.  Whatever.  It has worked.

You just won’t see me uncrossing my fingers.  YET.

For more Works-For-Me go to Rocks in My Dryer.

5 Comments

  1. Posted August 27, 2008 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    Love this idea! 😀 I’m going to check out the link. 😀

  2. Posted August 27, 2008 at 12:22 pm | Permalink

    OHMYGOSH! I am so jealous and what a fantastic idea! I may have to steal this. Although my oldest will eat anything you put in front of him, my middle one will at least try it, but he’s my picky one. BTW, LOVE your blog design and title. AWESOME!

  3. Posted August 27, 2008 at 10:01 pm | Permalink

    WHERE did you get those lunch boxes? I love it love it love it!!!! What a great lunch!
    Sandy Toes at http://www.shellinyourpocket.blogspot.com

  4. Posted August 28, 2008 at 4:13 am | Permalink

    I need some help with my picky baby, too. Maybe I should try a plate with dividers or something?

  5. Johanna
    Posted August 29, 2008 at 7:44 am | Permalink

    WOW! Those are some AWESOME lunches! In my day we had those brown lunch sacks and for some reason the PB & J sandwich ALWAYS got squished under the apple. If you packed my lunch I would not complain =)
    Looks exactly what I would put in my kids’ lunchboxes (when we have kids =) Have a great school year!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

