Fish what?

The husband and I actually lounged around at the supper table alone with newspaper in hand this evening.  I think the last time we did that in the evening was like 10 years ago. 

Anyhoo.  I was glancing over the Metro section of our fine paper and saw the words “fish pedicure.” 

Fish what? 

I reread the sentence – and I was “hooked” :).  I just had to read the entire article (if you are so inclined to do so you may read it here.)  I learned that people actually pay good money (as opposed to bad money)  to soak their feet in basins full of wee fish nipping at the dead skin covering their feet.   The article pointed out that some find this habit to be a bit unsanitary (including the State of Texas, who has now banned the practice).  True, that question of cleanliness occured to me too but . . . what about those nibbles?  What does it feel like to be fish food (make that toe food)?  I suppose I shall never find out.  Unless the state reverses its decision.  Or unless I visit one of those rogue, shadowy spas where the fish are kept under wraps in a back room . . .

Some of you may also be wondering . . . what about those poor fish??  What about THEIR sanitary needs?

Never fear . . . the article addresses that as well.  It seems that after every pedicure the fish are transferred to (and I quote) a “hospital tank” where they are “treated with an antimicrobial agent” to prepare them for their next meal guest.  I’m sure this is done with the safety of the pedicur-ees in mind, but I can’t help but think how this must rejuvenate the fishies.  Kind of like a spa within a spa.  Usually cleaning fish involves a knife and a rag and a much more unfortunate outcome for the ones being cleaned.  In this case, however, fresh fish become fresher fish.  Microbe-free.

So the next time you feel the weight of dead skin pressing down on your lower extremities, you may have to resort to a nibble-less, old school foot treatment.  However, the article DIDN’T mention anything about banning in-home fishnibbling.  With the economy in shambles (but your feet still in need of attention), you might consider trotting down to your local pet store to pick up some guppies that could fit the bill.  (A salon owner in the article paid $2500 for her 500 specimens but, hey – you might get lucky and get a good deal.  Do you think the economic downturn has affected the price of goldfish??).  As long as you limit your foot-pampering to a bare minimum (no pun intended), you should be able to make do with a considerably smaller school.  And don’t forget to pick up some antimicrobial wash while you’re at it.

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 10, 2008 at 3:20 am | Permalink

    Amazing! I can’t even make myself foot the money for a regular pedicure . . .

  2. EJ
    Posted October 10, 2008 at 1:10 pm | Permalink

    Loved it!!!

  3. Siv
    Posted October 14, 2008 at 8:52 pm | Permalink

    That is a really funny post! When you mentioned the State of Texas, I read “State FAIR of Texas”. I’m like, “what are people doing getting pedicures at the state fair??” HA!! (Although, I’m sure my feet could have used one after our 4+ hours there the other day!)

  4. Posted October 17, 2008 at 8:21 pm | Permalink

    I saw an article about this too…and the very next day just happened to see a place in our town that does this. It cracks me up!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

