Killer week

It has been quite a week.  A good week but so much added to my already full plate.  All I have to say is if you are a mom and work five days a week, GOD BLESS YOU!  I attended a reading workshop (which is a whole other post) all day Friday on top of having conferences at school.  Needless to say, I put in about 15 extra hours.  Of course my job as Mom continued to be demanding. 

And the laundry.  I did not touch it for three days and it was a mountain.  No lie! 

Yesterday we were able to relax a bit and get things done around the house.  The mountain is now a hill that is quickly turning into a mountain AGAIN.  I declared that I would not think nor touch anything work related yesterday.  Ended up being an excellent choice. 

We assembled our new firepot (which we received LAST Christmas – thanks bro and wife! – but had yet to open) and enjoyed a little campfire right in our backyard.  We ate homemade pizza around the fire then roasted marshmallows and consumed s’mores.  We had a super good time.  The Lad introduced us old folks to toilet tag.  That was great fun until Little Miss cut in front of me and my pinky toe jammed into her heel.  Her heel is fine but my toe is another issue.  Bruised, swollen and most certainly broken.  I can now say I have broken my toe at least five times in my life….and a few other close calls.  What a pity that I did not go with my intuition to put those tennis shoes on before playing tag.  And I wonder why my kids don’t listen to me.  I don’t listen to myself!!!!!

Pics from the evening:

4 Comments

  1. Sheli
    Posted October 19, 2008 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    I always admire the qualtiy time you spend with your family…even when things are hectic.

  2. Posted October 19, 2008 at 9:57 pm | Permalink

    Sounds like a wonderful evening, except for the broken toe. Hope your toe heals quickly!

  3. Posted October 20, 2008 at 11:22 am | Permalink

    Oh, sorry about the toe!! Those HURT! 🙂 But, it still sounds like a super fun day – the pics are great!

  4. Posted October 21, 2008 at 6:40 am | Permalink

    Oh my word… 5 times? I’ve never broken a toe… then again — I’m a shoe wearer… that may be it.

    But really — that outdoor fire thing looks COOL! What neat memories you created that night. Good for you Mom… busy or otherwise! Great Job!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

