The kids won’t always be around but I’m sure this roll of fat will

I have become addicted to working out.  I enjoy it for several reasons – the potential of looking good being at the top of the list.  My dear husband has dug DEEP into our wee savings and so graciously agreed to help me get in shape.  When I don’t workout, I feel guilty.

Not sure if I should be offended by his eagerness or just plain appreciative. 

Anyhoo.  The tricky part about working out is scheduling it.  If I choose to work out, I give something else up.  Usually, that something else is family time.  My schedule is completely full and every minute must be accounted for.  Three days a week I leave work and head to the gym and then meet the kids at carpool . . . of course that is when I don’t have a broken toe. 

And speaking of broken toes, I am on the mend and am convinced that I probably just severely jammed it. 

Anyhoo.  O dear.  I am having focussing issues tonight.

All this to say……….

As I was driving home this afternoon after my long day of teaching, I was contemplating what I should do this evening.  I had several options. 

1.  Go home and vedge.

2.  Go shopping with Tiff.

3.  Have Tiff come over and hang out.

4.  Go to the gym.

5.  Go home and make supper.

6.  Go home, make supper, and then go to the gym

7.  Go home, make supper, and then do school work (I had to bring home TWO bags of work this weekend!)

8.  Go home and NOT make supper and get straight to the school work and then to the gym

9.  Make supper, enjoy eating on the patio on this cool fall night, make a fire in the fire bowl, roast marshmallows, and just enjoy my family.

As I was thinking about all these scenarios, my friend called and I told her that I was tired and just did not know what I should do tonight. I was not myself and was feeling overwhelmed beacause it was not a typical Thursday, mainly because I have to “work” again tomorrow.  (I am off on Fridays but must attend another reading workshop from 8 to 4.)  This “working” on Friday business is killing me.  She asked me, “Well, have you prayed about it?”

Well, yes, I have been talking and thinking about it haven’t I?!?!?

“No, have you silenced yourself and really asked Him?” 

Well, thanks for the conviction.  But this really isn’t a big deal of a decision.

I hung up.

uuhummmmmm.  Well, maybe it doesn’t have to be a big deal – but after pondering it for a while I realized that prioritizing my life is a big deal.  And my schedule reflects my priorities.  Scary.  I also was convicted that I just don’t hand my little stuff over to God, as if I just don’t think He cares.  Or wants to listen. 

So . . . I heeded my friend’s advice and really asked the Lord what to do as I sped along HWY 80 toward home. 

You know what?

I got nothing.

Still didn’t feel like the Lord “spoke” to me.

Then I got home.  My initial gut feeling driving home was to not make supper, head to the gym, and let the husband fend for himself (and the kids).  But as soon as I got home, I jumped into preparing a yummy and complete supper.  It felt good.  It felt right. 

When my husband walked in the door, he smiled and commented on the nice aroma filling our home.  He sat on the couch reading the newspaper and I sat next to him for a few minutes while the kids played in the front yard.  I finished supper, set the table (actually the husband did that), and then set the table again on the patio table out back at the request of a certain Pumpkin. 

The kids were thrilled, esp. when Daddy made a fire in the fire bowl and announced we still had stuff for s’mores.  The husband and I just sat at the table watching the kids play.  It was tranquil.  The kids kept coming over to talk to us.  They knew.  They knew the evening was about them.  Not about Mom rushing off to the gym AGAIN or writing yet another conference summary (I have put in 15 extra hours of work this week too). 

The evening ended up being about us.  Our family.  My work will be there, the laundry will keep piling up, and that fat around my belly will stay and/or increase. 

But my kids?  My husband?  They are provided for.  They are my priorities.

So that roll of fat will just have to stay put for now because I am just too busy raising a family.

The girls love to make tents.  Under a tent is where we read our books tonight.  We ended up on the couch because the wood floors aren’t too comfy!

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 23, 2008 at 8:56 pm | Permalink

    Great post on priorities!

  2. Posted October 23, 2008 at 9:54 pm | Permalink

    Rock on Girlfriend! What a GREAT choice. I have found the same with some of my “priorities” recently. Making the kids and hubby in the TOP of the list is so worth the things we cut.

    GREAT shot!

  3. sincerelyanna
    Posted October 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm | Permalink

    S’mores?! How can you go to the gym when there’s stuff for s’mores in the pantry? I commend you for even considering it, but I agree that you made a great choice! Sounds like this night will be one to remember.

  4. Johanna Lamb
    Posted November 3, 2008 at 11:35 am | Permalink

    Hey Cynthia-
    Awesome post! I think you look great (esp after three kids) but if you ARE looking to lose that last bit, you should talk to Steve when we’re in town over Christmas. Sounds like the evening was perfect (and I remember those times from my childhood, you guys are awesome), but talk to Steve about what we do to workout and maybe it won’t be an either/or situation. He runs workouts for his coworkers and two of them are mothers that in just one month of working out (three days a week for 20-30 min or so) already are noticing that “baby fat” disappear. Look at Steve too. He’s now down to 189 and I swear I feed him. A lot. What we do is called CrossFit and you can check it out at http://www.CrossFit.com
    Basically the approach is shorter, high intensity functional workouts. A lot of body weight exercises (sit-ups, squats, push-ups and even pull-ups) and interval running, short distances at high intensity. A lot of it you could do at home and then when you are the gym, you can be there for less time and get more out of it. Just a thought. It’s really worked for us.
    Sorry work is keeping you so busy.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

