Maybe my last post was the calm before the storm

Ooooooooooooooooooh!  There has been so much bottled up inside my little head and I have been unable to share it via blogging. 

I am so ready to share our last few months with you all.  And I will soon, but my heart is so heavy this evening. 

Heavy following the outcomes from our elections.  Heavy with personal matters. 

I came into my bedroom to work on school stuff after realizing that watching the tube only made me ancy and grumpy.  I was relaxed and thankful for the tranquility in my little home.

Then the sweet husband came into our room, pulled up a chair and leaned forward. 

“As of December 31, I will not have a job.”

I laughed. 

Ha! Ha! Ha!

So funny. 

But it wasn’t.  He was serious.  He works for a non-profit social service agency and the economy has whacked them hard.  My husband is a victim of budget cuts.

I have continued to laugh.  Laugh and pray.  Not so sure what to do at this point.

I must try to get some zzz’s in but I will leave you with a few facts.

God IS in control of this country AND my life.  And to be honest, I am so glad I am not. 

The husband and I have sensed God moving in our lives and were preparing to make changes -we were just content having the ball in our court! 

Once we receive confirmation of a few things, I will share what great things God has in the works for us.  4 hours ago, we were confident that money was not an issue as we made decisions.  All that has changed. 

I have learned in just 51 short minutes that I can try to hold onto every aspect of my life but ultimately, my hands will slip.  My human hands cannot handle it.  I have been trying to keep control of wee bits of details. 

Well, I guess the Lord decided to cut off my fingers.  Now I cling with my heart.

We so need your prayers as we seek God’s direction for our lives.

8 Comments

  1. EJ
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 8:57 am | Permalink

    The Lord is truly in control, and I know without a shadow of a doubt that he will guide you, protect you, and lead you in the right direction – as well as supporting all of us who lean and depend upon Him daily – even hourly. I love you all

  2. Posted November 5, 2008 at 9:03 am | Permalink

    Oh, Cyn, I’m so sorry. I can truly say that I have been there. I know that you know that God will provide, and in a way this is an exciting time of seeing God’s provision. I pray that the Lord will direct your path.

  3. Posted November 5, 2008 at 10:29 am | Permalink

    what a day, no?

    We’ve been through this twice, and both times landed in better places with better jobs. It is a scary time and I will be praying. Please keep us posted.

    (And if Denver or CO Springs is a place to look – please let me know!!!) 🙂

  4. Posted November 5, 2008 at 11:15 am | Permalink

    Oh gracious… I lay down in bed last night, after watching the acceptance speech, and wondered… what will our life be like in 1 year. I made an actual decision to hand it over to God. I have no control, so why worry. Now — I don’t have added stress like you do just now, but I pray that you too can hand it over. Maybe again and again… hand it to the Lord. I pray the Holy Spirit will bring you to my mine when you are in special need of prayer, so I can have the privilege of lifting you up to the throne!

  5. Celeste
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 1:17 pm | Permalink

    We will keep you all in our prayers. God bless you all.

  6. Kim (BFFTW)
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 1:18 pm | Permalink

    My heart is sad for you as I read your post today~ but, we serve a mighty God who promises to work ALL things for our good and His Purpose! We will be praying for you and looking forward with expectancy to see what He has planned for your family!

  7. Posted November 5, 2008 at 3:46 pm | Permalink

    Weeeee! I don’t mean to sound flippant, but I am SO excited for you. You are embarking on an adventure w/ God at the wheel, and HIS ways are ALWAYS best. You are so fortunate that you have sensed him moving in your lives bf this announcement. I am confident all things will come together in His perfect timing. That is not to say that there won’t be bumps. But He is faithful. I will be praying. Keep us posted, friend!

  8. mjdunbar
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    Thinking of you and praying for God’s will to be totally clear. It’s so hard to give Him control..I work on that All the time! Hang in there…the Lord will do good things!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

