The Museo

For those of you who do not know Spanish, museo means museum.  And please don’t think I knew that word before today either.

This morning the husband and I had some time to ourselves here in Guatemala City.  We decided to be cultural and go to the local archeology museum.  I was a bit shocked that it cost 8 American dollars to enter.  Most things here (besides gas) are relatively cheaper than in Texas. 

Not only is archeology not my cup of tea but I quickly discovered that all the exhibits were written in Spanish.  (Not sure why that surprised me, but it did.)  So the first word that came to my mind was BORING. 

But it wasn’t. 

Please don’t go thinking that one day in a Guatemalan museum converted me into an archeology nut.  The thing that interested me was not the artifacts and the millions of pieces of clay and stone (and all those Spanish words that accompanied them) but all the spiritual connotations that went with every piece.

What I learned today (and I didn’t even have to read words in Spanish) was that the natives were clueless.  I was saddened that they lacked a basic understanding about who God is.  Their human sacrifices and other rituals revealed a belief about God that is very different from mine.  (Well, they may have gotten the human sacrifice part down . . . but not the right One.)

So today as I think about the Mayan peoples of long ago and their attempts to touch the divine, I am thankful that my relationship with God does not involve ceremonies that revolve around the taking of life.  I am thankful instead that I know the Giver of life and can live with Him every day.  That is the reason we are here this week: to give children a better life and to introduce them to the One who is truly the Giver of life.

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 15, 2008 at 10:15 pm | Permalink

    Isn’t it amazing how when you are walking with the Lord, you see Him everywhere? Your heart was touched even though you couldn’t read the words, and it wouldn’t have mattered anyway. What was written there was not the message God had for you.

  2. Celeste
    Posted November 16, 2008 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

    I am so touched by your faithfulness, Cynthia. What a blessing to see you travel your “journey” and to be honored to call you friends.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

