I like borrowing the twins

I was greatly disappointed during my first pregnancy when the technician at the sonogram announced that there was only one child.  I had my heart set on having twins. 

Five months after giving birth to our bouncing (huge) baby boy, I discovered that I was pregnant again.  I so feared that I was carrying twins.  That would mean three kids in 14 months. 

I changed my mind about those twins.

I survived having the two so close together and ended up having one more 2 1/2 years later.   When I told my Dr. that, unlike my previous pregnancies, I felt sick early on, he responded,  “Well, this could possibly mean you are having twins.” 

I was greatly unamused.

Well, I gave birth to one beautiful little girl.  Although she was one baby, she has been high maintenance to count for at least three.  But we love her.

After that third one crying non stop, we figured three was good for us. 

The end. 

Apparently, my brother and his wife thought one more than three would be good for them. I said, “More power to ya.”

Surprise!  They had twins.  Their total of 3 went to FIVE! 

Two adorable identical twin boys – that I kept yesterday in the midst of decorating for Christmas.  Let’s just say two 15 month olds and a scattered mess of breakable Christmas items don’t mix. I stashed all the breakable stuff on the dining room table and plopped myself onto the floor and played and fed and played and fed those two little guys.  I took them outside where they had a conspiracy to run in two complete different directions. 

I am tired.

Tonight I am thankful that God saw fit to give me twins that I can love to pieces then give back to their rightful owners. 

I was so busy chasing those two that I did not snap a photo!  They sure did look cute in their new dark denim jeans and striped shirts.

4 Comments

  1. Posted November 24, 2008 at 3:15 am | Permalink

    Cute! I remember thinking twins would be great when I was pregnant – just think – only having to do that whole miserable pregnancy once to get two beautiful kids. When I realized how much work a baby is, I quickly counted my blessings on having only one!

    My friend had triplets when her first was 18 months. What a life!

  2. Becky Pedneau
    Posted November 24, 2008 at 10:42 pm | Permalink

    Hi Cynthia! Just thought I’d pop in and say hello! Sounds like you are doing well. Miss your smiling face in MD!
    Becky

  3. jag777
    Posted November 25, 2008 at 11:36 am | Permalink

    Those are 2 cute little boys. And they love their aunt!

  4. Posted November 26, 2008 at 12:00 am | Permalink

    Yeah, I know about surviving kids 14 months apart. I always say that God gave me the strength to do it because I certainly didn’t plan it that way! After that…the end!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

