Goings On

I have a list in my head of possible post topics but of course I can’t seem to produce anything worth reading.  So for those of you who give  me a hard time about not posting regularly lately (you know who you are :)),  here are a few things going on here in the Knightly Manor.

The husband and I are scheduled to fly out on Thursday to Charlotte, NC.  He had an hour long phone interview on Tuesday and the man was obviously impressed enough to want him to fly out for an interview.  The ministry is in Boone, North Carolina.  It is a big one.  Anybody want to guess what it is?  Go ahead.  You will win my affection for leaving a comment and my praise for knowing your stuff.  

Because of this impending interview/job opportunity (which seems to us to be rather promising), we have been in a quandry over what we shall do. 

The pros? 

1.  A job immediately.  Which means an income that we will lose at the end of this month. 

2.  Working in a field my husband LOVES. 

3. Working for a well-respected and established missions organization.

4.  Chance to start fresh, to build our family of five up, make us closer and depend on one another.

5.  Not to mention the beauty of Boone, NC. 

6.  Maybe, just maybe, we shall get that dog named Buck. 

 

The Cons?

1. Family

2.  Family

3. Family

4.  Family

5. And did I mention . . . Family?

That pretty much sums it up.  I don’t only include our blood family in using that term but also all of our friends, esp. from our church and school.

6.  Oh yes – and the increase in cost of living (housing) which would require me to at least work part time.

So, that is where we are with all of that.  The husband has his resume floating out all over the place, esp in the DFW area, but has had NO BITES.  A little frustrating but we are hanging on to the fact that it is much better to be where God plans for us than to be out of His will.  We are okay with that.  But we are still longing to stay here. 

We had a  thousand parties this weekend.  It is now 8pm on Sunday night and I am in desperate need of a weekend.  Sad, I know.  A lot of that has to do with the fact that I have been feeling puny.  I guess I can admit that I have a cold.  I claimed it as allergies last week but I am beyond that point.  Need to get this taken care of before I fly out on Thursday.  I am so looking forward to some answers and a mini vacation with the hubby. 

We kicked off the weekend with a service project to a nursing home with the Primers-Third Graders. Pumpkin performed with her sign language class and we all passed out goodie bags and sang carols.  It was good and it prompted me to think about taking my kids more often.  I grew up going almost weekly and am thankful for that experience.  A certain older gentleman kept “dropping” items from his bag so I leaned over and picked them up for him.  I gently put the pair of socks in his lap and patted him on the shoulder.  That is when he grabbed my necklace and said, “You are wearing MY necklace.”  I somehow loosened his grip only to discover that he had thrown those darn socks down again.  I think he was going for the candy in the bottom of the bag.  He had no need for the socks.  I made the mistake of leaning in close to him again.  He kept saying, “Give me my necklace.”  I diverted his attention (like I do with my first graders :)) and was able to escape.  If it had been a woman, I would have happily taken that necklace off and offered it to her.  But what on earth would that 93-year-old man want with my big fat black necklace?

My mom offered for the kids to spend the night Friday night so instead of staying home and preparing for a party at our house the next night, we went to P.F. Changs.  We ended up meeting up with my in-laws and enjoyed a LOVELY evening sans kids.  That rarely happens.  I love my inlaws!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

We had my husband’s staff over for their Christmas party on Saturday night.  They are a great bunch of folks.  Two from his group lost their jobs so it was a bittersweet time.

dscf7049

This is a photo of all but one of his staff under him.  He has enjoyed working with all of them.

(my camera has been acting really funny so I apologize for the recent “shiny” pictures.  UUUUGH!)

I was put in charge of making the desserts for the party since I am well-known for my goodies at the husband’s office.  I tried two new things and was pleased with how they turned out. 

dscf7046

That is a Gingerbread Trifle and a Yule Log (my husband said it looked like a giant Little Debbie Swiss Roll).  It  took way too long to make (might not do that one again) but it certainly was way festive.

Our most wonderful Community Group met at The Cheesecake Factory for our Christmas party this afternoon.  We love those guys too!  I won’t discuss what I ate there.  (I actually salmon for my main course.  It’s what I had afterwards that is unmentionable.)

After the party this afternoon, the husband went shopping and then fetched the Pumpkin from a birthday party at the Galleria.  She finally got to ice skate and is now asking for ice skates for Christmas.  Little Miss and I snuggled in my bed and watched a movie on the computer while the Lad watched the Cowboys.  (We won’t talk about that either.)

Some fun news?  I just might get to meet a fellow blogger face to face while we are in North Carolina.  How fun is that to meet somebody you met via the internet?!?!   We have a lot in common and I just know we will have a grand time chatting.  I will leave you in suspense until it actually happens!  🙂

Well, I hear your yawns and feel my heavy eyelids.  

Have a super new week!

4 Comments

  1. Kim K
    Posted December 7, 2008 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

    I guess Samaritan’s Purse!
    Praying that God would show you very clearly His Plan~ and granting you all peace with His answer.
    PS~ My heart is breaking for you as I know what it is to face that same decision to leave home. God used a similar situation to test my faith and obediance~ we were 100 percent sure we were moving very far away. After I cried out in submission, the situation turned 180 degrees and we are still here at home years later. The only explanation is God’s leading me and challenging me to complete death of myself and my desires.
    I can’t wait to hear how it all turns out~
    Your best friend for the weekend!

  2. EJ
    Posted December 8, 2008 at 9:59 pm | Permalink

    What a wonderful blog about all your activities – and your interviews with Sam’s Purse will be awesome – the Lord is truly leading you 2, and I I know without a doubt that His way will be the best way.

  3. Posted December 9, 2008 at 4:51 pm | Permalink

    Yeah, Samaritan’s Purse is my guess too because I know people who go there every year to help pack the Operation Christmas Child stuff for shipping.

    I am sure that the Lord will make it very clear what He wants to you do, and provide for all your needs. We’ve been there.

  4. Sheli
    Posted December 9, 2008 at 5:00 pm | Permalink

    I am praying that if you do move away from family, that God will bless you with wonderful Christian friends to take the place of family…just as y’all have done for us! We love you guys so much!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

