Wild Goose Chase

There is a book lying on the desk about 3 inches from this laptop that scares me.  I have picked it up a few times and have even read about 17 pages. 

And now it sits staring at me, daring me to keep reading. My friend who gave it to me dared me as well.  I knew it was trouble when she handed it to me and laughed, saying, “You might not like me giving this to you.” 

Ha ha ha ha!

The name of the book comes from the name that the Celtic Christians had for the Holy Spirit.  They called Him An Geadh-Glas.  In my language, that translates to THE WILD GOOSE.  The author of the book (Wild Goose Chase) shares that like a wild goose, the Spirit of God cannot be tracked or tamed.

So that was interesting but what I did not like so much was the term circumstantial uncertainty.  Another name for it? ADVENTURE.

And that is exactly what we are doing.  Going on an adventure.  An adventure that is full of circumstances that are uncertain.  This has been quite unsettling to me.  Unsettling trying to figure out what God is pursuing with our lives and seeking to obey and follow.  Our adventures have been great this Fall – from moving towards packing up our family and heading to Guatemala to start an orphanage to the husband losing his job – to the job search leading us to everywhere but “home”.

Unsettling has been our theme this Fall and that has been sort of, well, unsettling.  I was convicted while reading this book that once I finally come to terms with how unnerving and disorienting this pursuing God thing is, the more I will enjoy the journey.  There is absolutly NO promise of safety or certainty but I believe that the Wild Goose (the Holy Spirit) is anything but boring and will truly guide me on the greatest of adventures no money could ever buy. 

I am so happy that my adventure guide is the Holy Spirit and He has given me a fine companion to join me. 

For more factual stuff now:

The husband and I are indeed in North Carolina on a job interview.  After a long day of interviews, we still have not heard a definite answer – from the organization or from the Lord.  This move will definitely be a bit out of our comfort zone (concerning housing and living far away from family) and entail a major helping of adventure.  

The biggest concern for us as well as my husband’s potential employer is how we would truly fair living away from family.  We have done it before but now we have had the grand privilege of living close to our loved ones.  That makes it harder to willingly get up and leave. 

Well, there is the lack of a job thingy going on and all.  :0

So here we are enjoying a lovely snowy mountain evening in a hotel room sans kids.  Waiting for the next adventure.

3 Comments

  1. Posted December 12, 2008 at 8:57 pm | Permalink

    Yes, do try to enjoy yourselves. I know it is hard in uncertain times, but it IS like a little mini-vacation!

  2. Tiffany
    Posted December 12, 2008 at 11:48 pm | Permalink

    My friend,
    I knew you wouldn’t like me giving you that book! Haha!
    But, I am so thankful that God has given me incredible friends like you to share this ADVENTURE with..it makes it all the more fun as we encourage each other to step out and follow that WILD GOOSE!

    Love ya!!

  3. Siv
    Posted December 14, 2008 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    Just think of it this way, at least NC is closer and not as far out of your “comfort zone” as Guatemala. In that sense, could be worse….anyway, we’re praying for you guys! Talk to you again soon.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

