Spirits are up

 Wish I could say a job was up but for now, I will have to only go for the happy spirit. 

The mammogram came back fine and dandy.  As I was leaving the radiology department, I looked at my husband and said, “Health has a whole other significance than not having a job.”  He hugged me tighter than I can ever recall and agreed with me wholeheartedly. We left with happy hearts and hope that God will provide all the other stuff – like a job. 

School finished for the semester on Thursday so I am finally in the Christmas mood.  I wrapped 27 gifts yesterday and finished up my shopping (one more to go plus a few wee stocking goodies for the husband) with Pumpkin.  We made gingerbread cookies last night and watched a movie snuggled up together.  Today the air is way cool and there is a fire in the fireplace.  The guys are watching football, a scented Christmas candle is glowing, and the girls are playing in their room with a friend.  The guys are headed to a hockey game this evening while the girls and I go back to church to see the Christmas production I missed while teaching Sunday School this morning. 

To top it all off? 

I do not have to pack lunches, set out clothes, or lesson plan tonight. 

Sum all of my happiness up right now and you have a “I am so happy it is Christmas” gal. 

And after all the craziness and even the recent health scare, I know that even if all of my bliss were not quite so blissful, the hope from the Christ child would remain.  Now that is something to be happy about.

3 Comments

  1. Posted December 21, 2008 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    Whoo-hoo! Excited for your good news and Christmas spirit! 🙂

  2. Posted December 22, 2008 at 7:23 am | Permalink

    Yeah for that Christmas spirit! It’s a little lacking here in South Africa, but I’m getting a feeling for it from reading yours and others’ blogs…

    Praying for your job situation. That whole twilight zone feeling that I’ve been having – I think I can really relate to what you’re going through!

  3. Kim K
    Posted December 22, 2008 at 9:49 am | Permalink

    Praise the Lord that you are clear~ Nothing like a health emergency to put things in perspective! Looking forward to hearing about God’s plans for your 2009!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

