The Christmas Letter

… is no more. 

Every year I write a long and most likely boring note about the happenings at the Knightly manor.  Last year I made an executive decision that since I was an official blogger, writing a letter when I write everyday sounded silly.  Last year I did the top ten things from 2007.  So guess what I will do this year? 

The Same.  Well, sort of.  Kinda.  Not really.

For those of you who are joining simply b/c I was bold enough to plaster my blog address on my pitiful Christmas card (I despise the picture that went out but desperate times called for desperate measures), I will spare you from lurking around my blog (although I would be honored if you did) and write a summary of the year.

Our oldest (I do not mention our children’s first names on the blog) turned ten in July.  WOW!  TEN.  I have a son who is ten.  Needless to say, the years have flown by but we are thrilled to see how God is molding our young squire into a young man. 

And if having your oldest turn ten isn’t enough, our baby, Little Miss, started kindergarten 5 weeks later.  I didn’t think it was a big deal but then I discovered that it was, well, a big deal.  Momma was a bit weepy for a while. 

I think part of the weepiness came from that fact that after staying home with the three tykes for nine years, I was bummed that when I kissed that wee one goodbye on her first day of school, I had to whiz over to my own classroom and teach.  So much for my dreams of being free after sending that last one off.  Oh well.  This is my second year teaching first grade at the children’s private school.  It is not easy being a working mom, but we are blessed that I am really only part time and get to be home with all three kids every Friday (our elementary school only has classes Monday-Thursday).  I also finish my teaching day at 1:45 so I head to the gym before fetching the kids from carpool at 4pm. 

The husband, our MasterKnight, has enjoyed another year at Buckner.  He LOVES what he does and is always bringing home miraculous stories of how God is providing for the orphans he serves worldwide.  On election day, however, he received news that his position was being cut and as of December 31 (yep, in 9 days), he will be unemployed.  I will refrain from how I really feel but will quickly interject that they(Buckner) have no idea how much they will miss their Humantarian Aid Director.  Let’s just say they have gotten so much for their money.  I am so proud of how he has sacrificed a large income and served in this ministry with integrity. 

So now that we are looking at being unemployed, the husband’s evenings are being spent searching for where the Lord is calling him.  He would LOVE to remain in the non-profit sector, especially with a Christian organization, but in these economic times not a lot of organizations are hiring.  We are in the waiting place now and to be honest, I don’t like it, but my prayer is that I will handle it with all the grace and dignity possible.  The husband certainly is handling it that way (not that it surprises anybody that he is not complaining – he never does!). 

Pumpkin turned nine on Halloween.  She is a lovely young lady who makes friends with all.  She enjoys school, esp the social part.  She has a thing for animals and esp. loves horseback riding.  She started the year off with a bang.  On New Year’s Eve, she was riding in a friend’s go cart and was thrown from the cart (yep, no seatbelt-uugh) and broke her right arm.  Her healing took her away from horseback riding for a few months.  When she was prepared to return to her hobby, her instructor announced she was marrying and moving.  Oh well!  Pumpkin had the grand privilege of going to Sky Ranch this summer.  She loved every minute of it and was even named Honor Camper. 

Little Miss turned six the week she started Kindergarten.  She informed me on the fourth day of school that she was “not handling this too well.” She also asked me, “Why do you make me go? I know everything they are teaching me.”  She is indeed our spunky child and has no qualms about expressing how she feels.  She sings ALL the time and is constantly loving on us, helping to ease the tension of her moodiness.  Her curly hair does indeed fit her strong and bubbly personality. 

The Lad started fourth grade this year and enjoys it.  He is quite the mathematician.  We have been so blessed to watch him grow up and mature.  He played Upwards football this fall and absolutely adored it.  His biggest obsession (and I don’t use that word lightly) is the Dallas Cowboys.    I found the Lad crying shortly after we told him of dad’s possible job opportunity in Boone, NC.  I quickly inquired why he was so upset, thinking how hard it would be for him to leave his current life.  His response?  “I just don’t want to be a Panthers fan!” 

Not a whole lot else to report.  We live in the same house we moved into 7 years ago and seem to be outgrowing (esp. the girls’ closets).  We so enjoy our church, Clife, living close to our families, and just enjoying our children.  We spend most evenings doing homework and playing games.  We took our annual trip to Taos, NM with the husband’s family this summer.  We went camping a few times and the kids enjoyed various summer camps.  We lead a small group in our  home weekly while the children attend AWANAs.  The husband and I will celebrate 12 years of marriage on the 28th of December.  I am more in love with that man now than ever before.  I admire how he leads our family with wisdom and strength (that he seeks from the Lord) but also with tenderness and grace.   

May you experience hope and love this Christmas, especially as you dwell on the greatest gift ever…

JESUS!

3 Comments

  1. Posted December 22, 2008 at 6:16 pm | Permalink

    Even though we see all of your postings, it’s fun to see how things have changed from year to year through a letter like this! (Though I admit to having skipped out on one completely this year…)

    Wishing you and yours a blessed Christmas filled with peace despite the uncertainties of the coming year!

  2. Fr. Ed Monk
    Posted December 22, 2008 at 9:55 pm | Permalink

    Cynthia-
    What a wonderful blogsite! Praise God for your good health, and we will pray for your family as you seek God’s will for jobs and locations.

    I loved seeing the pictures of the kiddos. What a wonderful family.

    God bless you all and Merry Christmas,

    Ed Monk

  3. Posted December 27, 2008 at 9:08 pm | Permalink

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. How fun that you got to meet blogger Pam this year!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

