Refreshed

I must admit that I take very little time to relax and get refreshed.  It just is not in my routine.  And that routine is pretty rigid around here.  We don’t watch ANY television shows and only an occasional movie.  No moral reason behind that decision (although I am sure if I actually watched one prime time show, I would have moral issues with many aspects) – we just don’t have time.  Along with not watching TV comes little set-aside time to sit and do NOTHING.  Sure, I peck away on this keyboard often and get sucked into the world of Facebook but really, I don’t relax. 

The end.

BUT the routine was shaken up yesterday and I am refreshed from the day’s events (or lack thereof).  Really, who would not be refreshed from a day off from teaching six toothless first graders!??!?! !  This is how my kids reacted to the news of no school due to icy weather:

dscf74361

These kiddos and I actually did very little on our day off.  I had planned on doing turbo lesson planning.  Did not happen.  I had planned on cleaning out the girls’ drawers.  I did pull everything out but have yet to organize.  I was going to bake until my feet swelled up.  Only made two treats, no meals to freeze.  UUUUGH. 

I did, however:

1.  Play UNO

2. Read half a novel

3.  Watch two movies with three kids piled on top of me

4.  Dance for 33 solid minutes with my nine year old to “My Boyfriend’s Back”

5.  Help the Lad write a paper

6.  Supervise the making of the nine year old’s diarama

7.  Walk into my awfully disorganized closet 1,309 times thinking, “I really must do something about this.” 

8.  Sit on the couch and chat with the Lad

9.  Listen to our Kindergartener read

10.  Goof off on Facebook for hours

11.  Pack up a few boxes of food to ship to Zambia (our ministry is shipping a few containers this weekend, so we are taking advantage of the opportunity to save room in our suitcases this summer)

dscf7437

12.  Listen to Pumpkin play the same some song over and over and over and over on the piano.  Then she moved on to the recorder.  It might have been a relaxing day but I will not claim it as a quiet one! 

dscf7442

13.  Make a yummy s’more dessert and enjoy devouring it with the troops during movie night! 

dscf7455

14.  Take three baths.  🙂

And plenty of other things that really didn’t matter except to those three kids of mine and to the state of my mental health

By the way, I am not the only one finally getting excited about heading to Zambia this summer:

dscf7465

The children have been going to our map in the foyer numerous times studying the location of Zambia.  It is great fun.  Today I got the children’s passport pictures! 

dscf7473

Tomorrow we will apply for the actual documents.  See?!?!?!  I am accepting it and am very excited. 

I am thankful that the Lord refreshed my body and has blessed me with a renewed soul as well.

3 Comments

  1. Posted January 30, 2009 at 10:55 am | Permalink

    VERY cool stuff! It sounds like you had a remarkable day!!! I love those days when so many fun things happen and everyone is happy and life just goes along without any bumps! Also, love the map in the foyer…only a teacher 😉

  2. sincerelyanna
    Posted January 30, 2009 at 10:56 am | Permalink

    Sounds like you needed a couple of days like this! Getting excited for your summer trip!

  3. Sheli
    Posted January 30, 2009 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

    I want the directions for the smores dessert!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

