I have a hankering to write something deep

but I got nothing. 

Sure, several topics come to mind but nothing stimulating.  Well, actually plenty that is stimulating and exciting but the real question is whether or not I can produce anything worth reading.

Have I mentioned that I have another love?  It’s name is Facebook.  Well, lately I have been tagged about 253 times to write 25 Random Things About Me. 

Yes, I know we have journeyed down this road before but please hang with me.   This could be fun because do you have any idea how much has changed in our lives since my 100th post list? 

A lot.

So in the spirit of having nada in the queue to post tonight, I will be a semi rebel and play along with this 25 Random Things About Me game,  BUT I simply prefer to participate where I feel comfortable (at my home in bloggyland).

1.  I can’t spell. I was writing about my brother today, explaining to a long lost high school chum about my bother having five kids and being bald.  (Not that those two things really have anything to do with each other -yes, he was bald after kid number one.  🙂  )  I could not, for the love of my first grade teacher, spell bald.  And to think I AM a first grade teacher. 

2.  I detest conflict.  The husband shared with me earlier about a little misunderstanding/conflict at work and my stomach is still doing a topsy turvy dance.  The sad thing is it had nothing to do with the husband and most definitely NOTHING to do with me.  But I HATE CONFLICT.

3.  I married the perfect man for me.  I might hate conflict but my husband really doesn’t know what the word means.  He is the most compliant and even complacent individual you will ever meet.  There is very little conflict around our Knightly Manor.  Well, recently we have been “fighting” to use the computer at night.

4.  I really want a certain item and have been mentioning it so much that I was informed (in a very non conflictual-I know that is not a word-manner) by the dear husband that I MUST stop even joking about it.  And to me, that is what it has become, a joke.  Do I have you curious?  Sorry.  I can’t mention it.  I made a promise to myself and the husband that we will not allow it to lead to conflict (uuhum hence number 3).  🙂

5.  I love clean sheet day.

6.  I love classical music.  Bach is my bestest music man. 

7.  I love Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

8.  I am very excited about entering the ministry with the husband.  I am giddy that our focus is in Africa.  And we thought we would end up in Russia or a Spanish speaking country.

9.  I make our own bread .  I simply mention it b/c I smell fresh bread cooling as I type.

10.  I LOVE teaching first grade but find it challenging to work, even at a job I love, and be a mom.

11.  I have a collection of 67 drawings so lovingly made by the six year old in the past week.  I have been notified that I CANNOT remove one particular masterpiece that is hanging on my closet door.  I have tried and have been heavily chastised. 

12.  In college I had an enormous growth (cyst) on my wrist that I lovingly named Norman.  Thanks to the husband for bringing that up to share with you all.

13.  I ran 3. 8 miles today. 

14.  I need new contacts.

15.  We really don’t have health insurance right now.  I was reminded of that this afternoon when I looked up at the WAY TOP of the playground and saw Pumpkin standing up.  My confession?  I yelled, “Get down NOW, we don’t have insurance!”  Any other gentle and concerned mom would have expressed the possibility of the child getting hurt.  Nope, not me, all I could see was dollar signs.  I’m just compassionate like that.

16.  I have a new thing for jewelry.  I once had an aversion to wearing that uncomfortable girly stuff.  Not now.  I am addicted.

17.  I have two books sitting on my bedside table staring at me, wanting to be read.  Nope.  Afraid not.  I prefer my novels.  I find them not to be so convicting. 

18.  We lived in Maryland for the first five years of our marriage.  Those were tough times for this Texas gal but I have such fond memories of people (even though they are NOT southerners), places, events, etc.  Sweet, sweet times in my life.  I became a wife and mother in that state.  The state whose location I probably couldn’t have pointed out on a map before I moved there. 

19.  My husband just brought me a piece of that yummy bread.  He is the most perfect man!  I adore him!

20.  I used the verse in my tagline (made you look) b/c my goal in my life AND on this blog is to glorify my Lord in my marriage.  I really do believe that I outpunted my coverage in a mate.  We have been blessed with a strong friendship and a deep love.  Oh, how I wish every couple will experience the joy.

21. I brag about my husband ALL the time.

22.  I long to be my husband’s crown. 

23.  This bread is very yummy – in case you were wondering.

24.  I started rereading The Power of a Positive Mom last night.  I think I need help.  Yes, it is most likely convicting.

25.  I am blessed with THREE fabulous (but a little rambunctious) children.  I have no idea where they inherited their energy. 🙂 

Now that you are enlightened, go kiss that husband (or wife) of yours and tell him/her how much you adore him/her.

It will make them smile.  And  maybe more!

6 Comments

  1. Siv
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 11:50 pm | Permalink

    Oh, how was the book in #24? Sounds like an interesting title. Let me know if you like it. Might be something my MOPS group would like to check out!

  2. Posted February 4, 2009 at 1:35 am | Permalink

    I’m smellin’ that bread! And I’ve got books begging to be read, too, but I have nothing to read at the moment – that’s brainless…

    I’m impressed with the running. And keep bragging up that husband!

  3. sheli
    Posted February 4, 2009 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

    I am dying to know what “the thing” is you have been wanting? Not that I want to bring up a sore subject!

  4. Posted February 4, 2009 at 4:50 pm | Permalink

    #15 – now that is funny! I so would do the very same thing!

  5. Pam
    Posted February 6, 2009 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

    I am so with you on number 15. We went with no insurance for 5 months, and I was obsessed! I would go around saying things like, “Don’t sneeze on us, we don’t have health insurance!” and “Oh, no you don’t! You are NOT getting a head injury today, not until next month!”

    I can’t tell you how many times I have been tagged for this!

  6. Johanna
    Posted February 9, 2009 at 9:07 am | Permalink

    Ha ha. I like your list. Maybe you did post it on FB but I came across if here =)
    I like #18. Southerners are all nice people but there are nice people that aren’t southerners =)
    (I tease Steve that he is still the only one of his ENTIRE cousins to marry someone not from Texas =)


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

