Frustration

It has been a full weekend.  Not so much with activities but with accomplishing tasks. 

One of the main tasks assigned to the husband was to research health insurance options for our family.  The results?

Basically, we are up a creek.

I guess since the husband has had insurance through his previous employer we did not dwell on options and what plan actually covers what.  I have discoverd that plans don’t cover much.  They seem to empty out your pocket book with high premiums.  I am surprised that I am surprised by this fact.  I have evidently been in the dark on financial sort of things.  Raising your own support tends to change how involved one is with financial decisions.  And to be honest, I don’t like being in the know.  It is sort of scary. 

So needless to say I am frustrated.  Of course this is a big deal to anybody but considering we are dependent on monthly donations from others and have only raised 11 percent of our monthly needs, this is a BIG deal.

Whew.  Thanks for allowing me to vent.  I feel so much better now.

If you find me the perfect insurance policy then I would be a lot better.

Thanks.

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 8, 2009 at 3:13 pm | Permalink

    We have a private insurance plan. We have a HumanaOne HSA plan and it is my favorite insurance plan that we have ever had.

    I would suggest finding an independent insurance agent (meaning that they can sell insurance for several companies and can compare prices & coverages). Call your church and ask if they know of anyone. 🙂

    Good luck! (And I’d be happy to talk to you about our experiences. We’ve had several companies, etc… )

  2. Posted March 10, 2009 at 1:34 pm | Permalink

    We are “self employed” technically and do not have group coverage. We use an HSA plan through BCBS. Hubby did the math on maxing out deductibles vs. monthly payments (how much we could spend maximum, worst case scenario) and we ended up using a high deductible plan with lower monthly premiums. We took off maternity coverage, and we each get x amount of annual visits covered. Then we do not have a co-pay and pay out of pocket for visits (which scared me half to death) but we have saved SO much money doing it this way because we aren’t blowing money each month on a high premium. Hope that helps?? maybe?? It’s hard to make those decisions…I totally hear ya! OH and look into the health dept. for assitance with dental and vacination stuff. They can really help lower costs there.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

