I have evidently trained my children

Why is it that the VERY important and sometimes annoying things you teach your children just don’t stick in their little brains? 

And why is it that the things that you unintentionally and even subconsciously teach them tend to really stick?

So much for hammering it in.  Apparently that plaque hanging in my home growing up (the first thing I remember reading independently as a six year old) speaks much truth:  “Children learn what they live and live what they learn.” 

The children do indeed copy what we do and even fall into a routine that we don’t truly know exists. 

This afternoon after Pumpkin had finished her science project on Venus, I asked her to hold up her simple poster (thank the good Lord it was to be simple) so I could take a photo.  As she headed for the spot I designated as the picture spot, I thought about telling her to cover up her name so I could freely post the picture on my blog.  Then I thought that maybe just maybe this photo could be private so ….go ahead honey, show that  name! 

Remember that little quote?  Well, evidently I take MANY pictures of the kiddos and evidently I have expressed my concern for not flashing their names all over the internet.  So as Pumpkin grabbed her mini poster, she immediately arranged her hands just so her name would be covered. 

I laughed.  It was so natural.  So immediate. So me. 

dscf7889

So glad she is learning such important life lessons from her mom. 

For the record, not plastering a pretty little girl’s name and face all over the worldwide web just might be a smart lesson to hang on to for years to come.

So glad she “listens.” 

dscf7888

One Comment

  1. Pam
    Posted March 16, 2009 at 7:54 am | Permalink

    Great looking project, Pumpkin!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

