That darn copier

I teach first grade so I never know what will come out of the mouths of my babes.  I have one particular little guy who is beyond smart but very adamant against anything to do with writing and spelling .  He can read and understand ANYTHING.  You should have heard him explain to my class last fall about what actually happens when one has a heart attack.  He lost me after sentence number two. 

Anyhoo.  Yesterday I was editing the students’ St. Patrick’s Day stories (very minor assignment) and then handing out handwriting sheets for them to complete.  I realized that I had somehow come up short on copies so I darted to the copier to fix the problem.  I returned to the classroom and handed my smart little guy a copy hot off the press. 

He was greatly unimpressed. 

In fact, he was so annoyed with the added work that he just about poked a hole in his paper and made grunting sounds.  I quickly approached him, giving the major teacher look that says, “You better stop that before I get a foot closer or else, Buddy!”  He noticed my near presence and looked up at me with his darling (and precious) grin and said, “Oh boy, I sure wish that copier would have put some awful lines or something on this paper.  I really, really wish that copier would have eaten it up or put lines all over it.” 

Darn that copier.

2 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted March 18, 2009 at 9:27 pm | Permalink

    Did he have a cute little Texan accent? I don’t know if I could’ve contained myself if he did. What a hoot!

  2. Posted March 20, 2009 at 8:03 am | Permalink

    he he – LOL!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

