Team Meetings

Have I mentioned that we are all going to Zambia this summer?  

Can’t remember if I slipped that in a conversation or two. 

Well, we are incredibly blessed AND thrilled to have this opportunity to serve orphans in Zambia, Africa for a few weeks this summer.  I have always had a desire to journey over to Africa.  

Then I became a mom. 

I did travel to Russia with the husband three years ago and just about died being away from the children that long.  Not only was it dreadful being away from my munchkins for ten days but knowing that getting back to my children if an emergency occurred would take at least 20 plus hours was quite unsettling.  I recall thinking on that trip that I would most likely not make it to Africa in the next 15 years.  I would not leave my kids again . Yes, I have traveled to Guatemala for a week at a time a few times.  But that is only a three hour flight and a little jaunt through customs.  I could survive. 

What does all this rambling have to do with team meetings?  

Not a lot. 

I am just reiterating my gleefulness about our upcoming adventures in Zambia.  Since we are a part of Family Legacy Missions we must be a part of the team meeting (2 our of 3).  Great. Something else to check off of my list of “Things to do before May 26.”  I need to go and discover what we will experience on our trip.  Like what to pack.  What shots to get. What preparations need to be done on this end, etc. etc. 

With all that busy work to complete a school year without the husband around and preparing to leave the country for three weeks with three young kiddos in tow, who has time to truly focus on anything else but the necessities?  

Uuuhum.  

The director (the husband’s boss) made a comment to the 148 of us in attendance about how the simple theme of Jesus Loves Me WILL change the lives of over 10,000 orphans.  But what we Americans might not expect is that WE will be changed.  What does it mean for Jesus to love YOU?  To really know you.  To love you.  Me.  You.  

So as I am running around getting ready to send the husband off in a few weeks ahead of us (in like six weeks from today) and then finish up the school year and jump on a plane for an incredibly long journey with three active tots, I think there is just one major thing I need to remember.  

Jesus Loves Me. 

He wants Me.  

And I must spend more time preparing for the work in my heart than running around getting the right adapters and converters, underwear for us all, necessary immunizations,  and plenty of drugs for the plane ride (oh I kid).  So many aspects of my spiritual life have been on the backburner for way too long.  I have been fully aware of my lack of spunk in my relationship with the Lord.  I have thought about how the Lord can change my heart while I am in Zambia but have not put much thought in how I must allow Him to work in my heart now.  

So now Team meeting #2 is checked off my list.  Whew!  But maybe the team meeting I really need to focus on is a teeny little team meeting that includes the Lord and yours truly.  

Something else on my list.  Maybe I should triple star that thing to do!

dscf79841

2 Comments

  1. Tiffany
    Posted March 30, 2009 at 8:28 pm | Permalink

    Hey friend…enjoyed your post. I’ve thought the same thing lately about my relationship with God. I know he’s there and I know I’m here (to be debated some days, of course!), but it’s like the communication is a big foggy. I was thinking about this today and likened it to talking on the phone to friends. Believe it or not, I’m not a big phone talker, but often it’s the only way we can keep up with each other. But, what I REALLY crave and LOVE is “FACE TIME” … I like to hug my friends, pat them on the back, see their facial expressions while they tell me a story, share a coffee, etc., Same way with God…I miss my “face time” with him…Praying for a spiritual awakening in your heart! Love ya!

  2. Johanna
    Posted April 1, 2009 at 7:54 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the good reminder!
    I’m going to read my Bible right now!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

