On this side of the world

You have heard from the husband more this week than you have from me.  It is weird reading what he is writing because, well, I am not a part of it.  YET.  Here I sit half way across the world living OUR lives but without him for the time being.  The whole time difference thing is challenging especially when it comes to finding the right time to chat via Skype.  Being mom, dad ,teacher, cleaner, packer (you should see the 12 bags I am attempting to organize), etc, etc has been interesting.  For the most part, it has gone very well. 

Well, the back door of the car being jammed AGAIN presented an issue or two.  It did convince me not to take a road trip to Houston.  I thought the trip down to visit the husband’s sister and family would be a great way to pass the time while the husband was gone -weekends are the hardest around here when Daddy is absent.  This weekend has indeed gone slowly and has given me two of the toughest days.  And when I say toughest, I don’t really want to imply that it really has been that tough, just harder than the previous days.  Down time gives us thinking time.  And thinking time gives us thoughts of Daddy.   Also, on typical weekends we do things together.  When the husband is gone, together is hard to do!  🙂

Skype has been our new friend.  We have not used it as much as I would like because of our schedules combined with the time difference.  Yesterday it did give the husband a true glimpse of life on the home-front.  As I was enjoying a lovely chat with my man via Skype (and using the webcam), the children grew restless and started to get rambunctious in the other side of the house.  As I was stalling to end the conversation, I heard hair-raising cries from the other room. 

Little Miss came into the computer room (aka our bedroom) with her hand holding the back of her head.  It didn’t take me long to figure out that they had been rough housing in the bathroom and she somehow slipped when brother was pushing the door.  As she fell back, she hit the back of her head on the hinge of the door.  So, the husband is sitting there in Africa witnessing blood, a hysterical child (but really, she wasn’t that bad), and the sister crying due to guilt.  After I found the wound under a bundle of curls and was able to examine the gash, the realization that I just might have to take her to an emergency room hit me. 

You know what else hit me?  The fact that the husband was about to click the “end call” button on his computer screen and be done with the whole ordeal.  And then I wanted to know where my “end call” button was.  In fact I am still frantically searching for the end button.  🙂

Seriously, the children have done well.  The sweetest little bond formed (once the blood disappeared) between the two sisters.  The good that came out of this incident was that my girls have stopped their bickering!!!  It left as quick as it came last week.   Shortly after the mild injury and I decided that she did not need medical care, we were in the car heading to a friend’s house.  The girls were in the way back of the van casually talking about kids who had to get stitches or had other blood-inducing accidents.  I glanced back in the rear view mirror and saw Little Miss’ face.  I think Pumpkin’s stories were unintentionally scaring her.  I did not catch the whole moment but I did hear, “Don’t worry__________, all we can do about it is pray.  Do you want to pray or do you want me to?”  The next thing I knew they were bowing their heads and Pumpkin was sharing the sweetest prayer I have ever heard come from her lips.  Yes, there were tears in my eyes.

While this time of separation is not easy, it has brought some great times for the kids and me.  We miss our Daddy because he does such an incredible job being an active part of their lives.  There is a void when he is absent and it makes us sad.  We just have to hang on for a few more days b/c in less than nine days, we will be on a plane heading towards his embrace.

One Comment

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted May 17, 2009 at 8:23 pm | Permalink

    Sisterly bonding! Great story. They’ll do more of this on the trip I’m sure and you’ll get to witness God at work!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

