Where did the time go?

One week off from work and another one left to be enjoyed.  I am a happy momma. I thought I would have tons of time to post but it seems that I have been involved in other endeavors.  

I have certainly enjoyed time with my sweet, sweet MAN whom I married 13 years ago TOMORROW.  I LOVE THIS MAN WITH ALL OF MY HEART!  I can’t believe the years have flown by but in some ways it seems like I have been with him every day of my life.  It is hard to think of my life without him in it.  He absolutely brings me joy and is a MAJOR blessing in my life.  

I often wonder why on earth we chose December 28 as our wedding date.  My parents like to remind me of a comment I made about 13 years ago.  It was a few days before Christmas and I was frantically finalizing plans for our big wedding (we had over 625 people in attendance) and for some reason NOBODY wanted to answer phone calls from an anxious bride-to-be on December 23.  Dad caught me stomping through the house muttering, “Why on earth did they put Christmas THREE DAYS before my wedding?!?!?!”  

Yes, I apparently got it all wrong.  My son just read this over my shoulder and told me that I only have myself to blame, NOT Jesus.  Thanks sweet eleven year old!  But at that time in my life, all I could really focus on was MY WEDDING.  I am not too proud to admit that fact but I find it interesting how the tables have been turned since then.  The husband and I quickly discovered that our special day, the day that at one point in time seemed even more important than the celebration of Jesus’ birth, easily got put on the back burner.  We find that by the time our anniversary rolls around shortly after Christmas day, we lack the energy to truly celebrate.  It has been a constant struggle.  

Honestly, I am ashamed of myself for not working harder to make December 28 more sacred, extra special.  BUT I have parents who value marriage and love the two of us.  They try to assist us in taking time out to focus on each other.  So it really should not surprise me that my parents gave us two grand nights at the Gaylord Texan AND free babysitting.  Tomorrow I will dump  drop off the kids at Nana and Papa’s house and spend two glorious days with my husband. 

Happy Anniversary Dear Man!  I am absolutely thrilled to be your wife.  The rings on our left fingers still make me feel all giddy inside.  I still can’t believe you chose me!  WOW!  

And thanks for fathering these three monkeys!  

Little Miss (age 7)


The Lad (age 11)

Pumpkin (age 10)

So now EVERY year at Christmas time when I am reminded once again how precious my life is simply because of a baby born over 2,000 years earlier, I am also reminded of another WONDERFUL gift in my life.  My husband is truly a gift.

2 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted December 28, 2009 at 1:19 am | Permalink

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. Sheli
    Posted December 29, 2009 at 12:02 am | Permalink

    I love the picture of the two of you. You look beautiful! What a special treat from your parents to set aside time at the Gaylord for you! Our anniversary always gets mixed in with our anniversary, two of my babies birthdays, my own birthday, and a nephew’s bday. Crazy week there. Maybe we should pretend we got married a month earlier and celebrate then, just so we could have our very own weekend??? Hum?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

