Moses

I am reading through the Bible this year and so far I am THRILLED with my decision/commitment.  This is NOT easy for me b/c in the past, I have tended to put Bible reading and prayer at the end of my “to do” list.  And YEP, it rarely was accomplished.  I am greatly enjoying reading through the Old Testament.  I can’t believe I just made that confession!!!

Of course, some of my favorite childhood memories from Sunday School include Old Testament stories.

My favorite?

Moses.

Hands down.

My favorite as a small child was the story of Moses’ birth and his mother’s journey to save his life.  I remember my mom reading the story over and over and over from a book that I so hope she still owns.  I loved that the Princess “found” him and raised him as her own.  Kinda makes me think about God adopting us into His kingdom and loving us so beautifully.

As I grew older, my fascination with Moses increased all the more as I realized the similarities in my own life and Moses’ life.  I don’t mean how I can relate to his mistakes……I am referring to the fact that we share a common trait:  NOT BEING eloquent with words and being slow in speech and tongue (well, I am definitely not slow to speak but I did have a big time speech impairment – a tied tongue).  I love that God didn’t seem to care about all of that.  He even provided Moses with a brother who was gifted with delivering words.  Hmmmmmm….I have a brother who is an EXCELLENT pastor and can relay messages so clearly and effectively.  Love that parallelism.

Yikes!  I could go on and on about Moses. And to think I am only in chapter 7 of Exodus!  Good stuff.

I hate to admit that I am finding a few more parallels that I am not so happy about!  Uh-hum.  Should I even mention the excuse thing he had going there?  Takes one to know one.  🙂

Anyhoo, it is time for bed but I just had to share my random thoughts about my man Moses.  My favorite childhood Bible story still has lots to teach me as a grownup!

One Comment

  1. Leslie
    Posted February 22, 2010 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

    I read thru the Bible last year…for the first time. I loved it, often had to play catch up, but so worth it. For all the numerous lessons the I could have walked away with, the Sovereignty of God was the biggest one I finished with. No doubt God is in the details…LOVE it.

    Moses is also my most favorite story.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

