oh me oh my

I say that silly little phrase for various reasons this morning.

1.  It is supposedly going to snow this evening.  It was 72 degrees and sunny the past few days.  This has truly been the most wacky of winters down here deep in the heart of Texas.

2.  Sitting in Panera Bread on this cold and wet Saturday morning enjoying a casual breakfast with my love.  He is sitting across from me reading the paper while I enjoy the laptop.  Even sitting close by to my man not saying much brings me joy.  Oh me oh my how I love him.

3.  The husband will be in Zambia in less than two months!  The children and I will follow him 23 days later.  Not like I am counting or anything….

4.  I have just about completed my first year of teaching full-time in a public school AND being a mother.  Overall, it has been a wonderful experience and I am so grateful for the opportunity to teach my “Littles.”  It is definitely a BUSY BUSY and chaotic job but it fits me like a glove (I opened myself up for comments…I know!)

5.  It occurred to me yesterday while watching “The Diary of a Wimpy Kid” with the kiddos that my son is in the midst of that middle school chaos.  How the heck did that happen?  Almost twelve?  Uh-uh!  Not in my house!

6.  I have over 3.000 pictures on my camera memory card that MUST be downloaded A.S.A.P.

7.  After close to nine years of living in the same wee house, I finally broke down and decided to purchase window treatments.  I came home from my shopping adventure all excited.  The husband’s response?  “Hmmm.  A little dark, don’t you think?”  He doesn’t handle change well.  I think he likes our plain little house.  But after hanging them (still not completely finished), he realized it is a nice touch.  I knew he would come around.  Now I must hide the receipts……..

8.  Spring Break is about to come to an end.

9.  We had a lovely trip with my folks down to San Antonio the first part of our break. I will post pics soon – after I download 3,000 pictures!  🙂

10.  I mentioned to the husband this morning that I think the appropriate word to describe the next 14 weeks is PLANNING.  Planning for our entire summer in Africa. Planning for a new school year.  I forgot how much thought goes into planning for next school year during the Spring.  I am having a little trouble focusing on next year.  I must complete this year and get through our adventures in Africa – then I can think about the next school year.

11.  My eleven year old son and I were having a conversation the other day about peers and “social groups.”   He informed me that he may not be cool but he is NOT a nerd!

12.  I have NOT posted in a long, long time.  Not that anybody misses my musings….

Happy Wet Saturday!

7 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted March 20, 2010 at 10:48 am | Permalink

    I miss your musings! Between here and FB it’s nice to keep up with you and your family. We miss you guys. Glad you have a little date this morning and could post something!

    Max wants to see Diary of a Wimpy Kid. What did you think?

  2. Posted March 20, 2010 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

    I’ve missed them too!! We had 60 degree weather a couple days ago and it’s supposed to snow today as well. Strange, but we’re used to it. I too need to download pictures, and maybe put up a post with pictures for once too! Glad you’re back, for now!

  3. jag777
    Posted March 20, 2010 at 4:48 pm | Permalink

    We’ve missed them too! Love to read the blog!

  4. Tiffany
    Posted March 20, 2010 at 7:06 pm | Permalink

    Welcome back to your blog, my sweet friend! 🙂

    I sure enjoyed “hanging” with you this week! While I love our lunches (especially since we don’t have to eat at a restaraunt with a playground), I have cherished having longer than 50 minutes with you! 🙂

    And by the way, my pantry looks AWESOME!!!!

  5. Sheli
    Posted March 20, 2010 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

    please help me pick out window treatments for my kitchen.. Although some new faux wood blinds would probably be a good start!

  6. EJ
    Posted March 21, 2010 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

    So glad to catch up on everything! Would love to see the new window treatments – keep us all updated on getting ready for Zambia.

  7. Posted March 22, 2010 at 4:15 pm | Permalink

    I miss them too! It was nice to catch up! 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

